Academic Common Market offers Delaware students savings on college tuition

November 17, 2012

More than 100 public colleges provide in-state tuition to eligible Delaware residents who are pursuing majors not offered at the University of Delaware or Delaware State University through the Academic Common Market.

"This partnership saved Delaware undergraduates enrolled in majors not available in their home state an average of $13,000 in tuition costs this year,” Secretary of Education Mark Murphy said. “The Academic Common Market means Delaware students have the opportunity to study programs they may otherwise not be able to afford.”

The ACM is a tuition-savings agreement among 15 states that are members of the Southern Regional Education Board. Public colleges in SREB states that elect to participate in the ACM select the baccalaureate and graduate-level degree programs they will offer. First professional degree programs such as pharmacy, law, dentistry and medicine are not part of the program.

Since Delaware joined SREB in 1998, the state has certified more than 1,000 students at more than 70 colleges to major in baccalaureate programs such as acting, architecture, dance, dental hygiene, film making, fire protection engineering, forest resource management, hearing and speech sciences, industrial engineering and interior design. Master’s degree programs have included architecture, education of the deaf and hard of hearing, journalism, library and information science, occupational therapy, public health and speech-language pathology. Doctoral students have been certified for the ACM in programs such as anthropology, audiology, occupational therapy and theater design/arts administration programs.

To date this year, 94 students have been certified for a total tuition savings of more than $1.2 million.

In addition to the ACM campus-based programs, the ACM Electronic Campus offers distance learning opportunities. There are two undergraduate and 20 graduate-level degree programs available to Delaware residents at this time. This allows working adults pursuing degrees - such as a bachelor of science in dental hygiene, master of library science or doctor of nursing practice - to complete their degree and receive the ACM tuition savings while remaining employed in their current job. Only Texas does not participate in the ACM Electronic Campus.

States participating in the ACM are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. Florida and Texas offer graduate-level programs only. More than 2,000 students in the 15 participating member states are certified each year for the ACM.

Delaware residents may apply for the ACM after they have been accepted into an eligible degree program. Students and parents with questions about the ACM should contact the Delaware Department of Education’s Higher Education Office at 302-735-4120 or 800-292-7935. More information, including eligible programs and the application, is available at

Welcome to The Cape Gazette Archive.
This content is provided free of charge
thanks to our sponsor:

Close ad in...

Close Ad