British Car Show motors over to Lewes

Winners listed
May 10, 2013

The 18th Annual British Car Show, The British Are Coming, was held on the grounds of the Lewes Historical Society May 4. Sponsored by the Lewes Chamber of Commerce with assistance from the Delaware British Car Club, the show drew a record number of attendees as well as a record number of entrants with 111 cars registered and 93 on the grounds of the show. This year’s show came with very atypical British weather - sunny and mild!

Shown receiving the Best in Show trophy from Lewes Mayor Jim Ford during the parade of cars on Second Street in Lewes is Jerry Hirst of Rehoboth Beach in his 1966 Morgan 4/4. Winners were selected by a popular vote of show attendees at the Lewes Historical Society complex.


The winners are listed by categories based on the age of the car.

Best in Show: Jerry Hirst, Rehoboth Beach; 1966 Morgan 4/4

Category I: Up to 1956

First Place, Dennis Gilligan, Pasadena, Md., 1952 Jaguar XK12
Second Place, George Alderman, Hockessin, 1933 Austin 7 Ulster
Third Place, Jack & Carol Schmelyn, Glen Burnie, Md., 1954 Triumph TR2, Long Door

Category II: 1957-1962

First Place, Bill Smarr, Milford, 1958 MG2B
Second Place: Frank Angelini, Downington, Pa., 1959 Triumph TR3A
Third Place: Mike Tyler, Lewes, 1962 Austin Healey 3000 MKII

Category III: 1963-1968

First Place: Mike Browne, Waretown, N.J., 1968 Riley Elf MKIII
Second Place: Charlie Givans, Great Falls, Va., 1967 Jaguar E-Type 2+2
Third Place: Steve Hunter, Severna Park, Md., 1966 Triumph TR4A

Category IV: 1969-1974

First Place: Lem Burnett, Meyersville, Md., 1970 Jaguar E-Type OTS
Second Place: Fred & Connie Schuchard, Bridgetown, N.J., 1971 Morgan +8
Third Place: Jim Wines, Marmora, N.J., 1971 MGB

Category V: 1975-1980

First Place: Leah Payne, Dover, 1977 British Leyland
Second Place: Marsha Oot, Kearneysville, W.Va., 1977 TVR 2500M
Third Place: Karl Kaminski, Newark, 1979 MG Midget

Category VI; 1981-2000

First Place: Louie & Leslie DeCamp, Annapolis, Md., 1994 Morgan +8
Second Place: Janis Beach, Annapolis, Md., 2000 Aston DB7
Third Place: Rudy Swanson, Lewes, 1985 Rolls Royce Silver Spur

Featured Marque - Lotus

First Place: Duane Klair, Hockessin, 1974 Lotus Europa Special
Second Place: Paul Alderman, Wilmington, 1971 Lotus Europa S2
Third Place: Ted Taylor, Haddon Heights, N.J., 1974 Lotus Europa
Premier Class - Comprised of first-place winners & Best in Show winners from the 2012 show - (Only one award in this category)
First Place: Dennis & Nina Morrison, Fallston, Md., 1960 Triumph TR3A


Welcome to The Cape Gazette Archive.
This content is provided free of charge
thanks to our sponsor:

Close ad in...

Close Ad