Cape Jr. League All Stars win District III title

Big fourth inning propels team over Millsboro
The Cape Junior League All Stars pose with the District III championship banner after defeating Millsboro in the winner's bracket finals in Seaford. BY RON MACARTHUR
July 20, 2013

The Cape Junior League All Stars used another big inning to clinch the District III championship.

Made up of players from Lewes, Rehoboth and Milton, the Cape All Stars scored six runs in the fourth inning and went on to defeat Millsboro 12-5.

Cape advances to the state championship round in Little League post-season play against the District II champs at 7 p.m. Thursday, July 25, in Middletown.

There were smiles all around July 19 as Cape players posed for photographs with the District III championship banner on the Nanticoke Little League field.

Manager Bill Lux summed up how the team played going 4-0 in the tournament. “It seems like when we have our back against the wall, the pitching and defense comes through for us,” he said.

On the mound, Josh Fonville, Quinn Donohoe – with six strikeouts – and Zack Gelof combined for the win.

In the title game, Millsboro came out inspired and after three innings the scored was tied at 3-3. But Cape scored six runs in the fourth inning to put the game out of reach.

Leading the offense, Wil Jarrell was 4-5 with a double and two RBI, Ryan Meade and Richard Carey had three hits, Connor Thompson and Zack Gelof had two hits and Kyle Lux had two hits, including a key two RBI double to start Cape's rally in the fourth inning. Carey, who reached on an error, and Noah Clifton, who doubled, scored the go-ahead runs, 5-3. Meade and Gelof followed up with hits and both scored a run. Cape took advantage of three Millsboro errors to score four unearned runs.

Cape went ahead 2-0 in the first inning with three hits but gave up three runs in the bottom of the first to fall behind 3-2. Meade knocked in a run in the third inning to tie the score at 3-3.

After reaching on a single, Thompson scored a run in the sixth inning and Cape added two more runs in the seventh inning on hits by Lux, Jarrell, Thompson and Tom Heffernan.

Team members are Wil Jarrell, Ryan Meade, Briley Brooks, Zack Gelof, Kyle Lux, Noah Clifton, Austin Elliott, Richard Carey, Bill Geppert, Josh Fonville, Connor Thompson, Quinn Donohoe, Tom Heffernan and David Erickson. The manager is Bill Lux and the coaches are Rich Carey and Jay Elliott.

Welcome to The Cape Gazette Archive.
This content is provided free of charge
thanks to our sponsor:

Close ad in...

Close Ad