Delaware personal income tax due April 30

April 16, 2014

Division of Revenue Director Patrick T. Carter reminds taxpayers that State of Delaware personal income tax is due April 30.  Citizens can file their Delaware income taxes online for free at

On average, Delaware’s online filing system allows taxpayers requesting refunds to receive their refund two weeks earlier than those filing paper returns. Currently, the average time to issue a refund for online tax filing is under nine days, compared to paper tax filing, which is over 21 days.

Online filing also allows taxpayers to file their taxes electronically and then schedule any payment due closer to the April 30 deadline. Online filing is available 24/7. Taxpayers may pay their State of Delaware taxes using a credit card or by debiting their bank account.

Because Delaware does not maintain reciprocity agreements with other states, it is important for anyone who is not a Delaware resident, but worked in Delaware in 2013, to understand that they must file a Delaware tax return. Likewise, Delaware residents who work out-of-state are required to file returns with Delaware, in addition to the state where they worked.

If a taxpayer owes Delaware and doesn’t have the funds to make payment by April 30, it is still important to file the return and make future payment arrangements, because there is a 5 percent monthly penalty if the return is not filed on time. Likewise, taxpayers who don't have all of the return completed can file an extension using the Delaware extension form, DE1027, which will give them until Oct. 15 to file the original tax return without the 5 percent non-filing penalty.

By law, Delaware employees should have received their W-2 employment forms by Jan. 31 for any job worked during the 2013 calendar year. Those who haven’t received a W-2 should contact their employer immediately.

Welcome to The Cape Gazette Archive.
This content is provided free of charge
thanks to our sponsor:

Close ad in...

Close Ad