Sussex Tech is honored for AP program’s success

Participating in the Advanced Placement honor ceremony for Sussex Tech were (l-r) Delaware Secretary of Education Michael Murphy, Sussex Tech Assistant Principal Dr. John Sell, Sussex Tech AP History teacher Jamie Carlson, Sussex Tech senior Alicia Martinez, Sussex Tech Director of Support Services Dr. Kevin Dickerson, DOE representative Michael Watson, Executive Director of the State Board of Education Donna Johnson, and Vice President of Advanced Placement Programs at College Board Trevor Packer. SOURCE SUBMITTED
April 26, 2014

Delaware celebrated access and success in Advanced Placement programs throughout the state March 19. The ceremony recognized high schools in Delaware dedicated to academic excellence that have opened access to Advanced Placement courses while maintaining high levels of student success in those courses.

Sussex Technical High School was one of six outstanding schools honored at a midday ceremony at the Old State House in Dover. Senior Alicia Martinez of Seaford was proud to accept the award on behalf of Sussex Tech.

Trevor Packer, vice president of Advanced Placement programs at College Board, State Secretary of Education Michael Murphy, Michael Watson from the Delaware Department of Education, and invited guests were in attendance.

Appoquinimink High School, Cab Calloway School of the Arts, The Charter School of Wilmington, Delmar High School, and Middletown High School were also honored.