Cape Region officials read Declaration of Independence

After the reading of the Declaration of Independence and the Bill of Rights, the participants gathered for a group photo. Shown are (l-r) Sussex County Sheriff Jeff Christopher; Sussex County Councilman Vance Phillips; Rep. Steve Smyk, R-Milton; Sen. Ernie Lopez, R-Lewes; Claire and Anna Lopez; Rep. Dave Wilson, R-Bridgeville; Mellie Pettyjohn; Sen. Brian Pettyjohn, R-Georgetown; Rep. Ruth Briggs King, R-Georgetown; Rep. Harvey Kenton, R-Milford; Georgetown Town Councilman Chris Lecates; Georgetown Mayor Bill West; Georgetown Councilman Dave Anderson; and Sen. Gary Simpson, R-Milford. BY STEVEN BILLUPS
July 15, 2014

Cape Region officials joined Sen. Brian Pettyjohn, R-Georgetown, at the Georgetown Fire House on the Fourth of July to participate in the second annual reading of the Declaration of Independence. The event was scheduled to be held on The Circle in Georgetown, but the weather forced the event to be held in the fire hall. The Declaration of Independence and the Bill of Rights were broken down into even parts so all of the officials had an opportunity to read the parts.

Welcome to The Cape Gazette Archive.
This content is provided free of charge
thanks to our sponsor:

Close ad in...

Close Ad