Cape seniors named Secretary of Education Scholars

Betts, Irelan, Stancofski among top students in state
May 18, 2020

Three Cape High seniors are among 91 Delaware public school students from the Class of 2020 to be named Secretary of Education Scholars.

While the annual award banquet was canceled due to COVID-19, Maddie Betts, Mackenzie Irelan and Anna Stancofski were among students recognized by Secretary of Education Susan Bunting for outstanding achievements. 

"They deserve recognition for their outstanding achievements and leadership in and out of the classroom," Bunting said. "Their success is the result of their hard work and the support of their families and educators. Graduation is the start of a new chapter in their lives, and I can't wait to see how they will continue to excel in college, military service and their chosen careers."

Maddie Betts will attend Ohio State University, majoring in political science or public policy. She serves on the Youth Leadership Council, Youth Philanthropy Board, Cape High Mock Trial Team and Cape Chorale. 

Maddie is an Academic Challenge and AP student who also received the Presidential Volunteer Service Award and the Governor’s Award. 

Mackenzie Irelan will attend The United States Military Academy at West Point as a political science major. She has maintained a GPA above 4.0 with a challenging schedule, including eight AP courses and dual enrollment options. She also plays tennis and has completed several missionary trips through Foundation for Peace. 

Mackenzie was named a 2019 Leukemia and Lymphoma Society Student of the Year candidate and is involved in many organizations such as National Honor Society, FFA, Green Club and Ducks Unlimited. 

Class President Anna Stancofski is ranked at the top of her class with a 4.168 cumulative grade point average. She is a volunteer coach with Atlantic Adaptive Lacrosse and a three-sport athlete in field hockey, swimming and lacrosse. Anna is National Honor Society treasurer and is a member of the Leo Club and Optimist Society. 

Anna will attend Swarthmore College as a McCabe scholarship recipient; her brother Eric will be a senior at Swarthmore. She plans to major in a math- or science-related field and play field hockey.

The state has named Secretary of Education Scholars every year since 1984. The number of scholars from each school is based on enrollment, and principals select the students based on academic records and community service. 

Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter