Kathryn Marini of Lewes honored as Worcester Prep valedictorian

June 27, 2020

Worcester Preparatory School’s traditional graduation ceremony was replaced with three alternate celebrations for the Class of 2020.

Administrators organized a senior drive-thru procession May 21 when past and present faculty lined the school sidewalks cheering on individual seniors as they rode by in their cars. On the originally scheduled graduation date, May 22, students were honored in a prerecorded virtual graduation highlighting all their awards and scholarships. Finally, June 12, seniors returned to campus one last time adorned in classic white gowns and suits for a private outdoor diploma ceremony where they received their diplomas on stage.

During the socially distant ceremony, Acting Head of School/Head of Upper School Mike Grosso announced the top senior award recipients including valedictorian Kathryn Marini of Lewes, salutatorian Damiana Colley of Berlin, Md., and best all-round student Quinn McColgan of Millsboro.

The 47 graduates received more than $6.8 million in merit scholarship offers and will attend 37 different colleges and universities in 15 states and the United Kingdom in the fall.

Local graduates and their colleges include McKenzie Blake, Lewes, Rochester Institute of Technology; Ty Burton, Milton, Coastal Carolina University; Mesa Cammack, Rehoboth Beach, University of Delaware; Rylie Carey, Dagsboro, Clemson University; Frank Carter, Lewes, United States Naval Academy; Emily Copeland, Lewes, University of St. Andrews, Scotland; Ryan Cronin, Selbyville, University of Tennessee; Noah Hudson, Milford, Saint Edward’s University; Kennedy Humes, Rehoboth Beach, James Madison University; J.P. Issel, Lewes, Washington College; Jacob Lewis, Selbyville, Florida Gulf Coast University; Kathryn Marini, Lewes, Cornell University; Quinn McColgan, Millsboro, Sarah Lawrence College; Saylar McGuiness, Rehoboth Beach, College of Charleston; Kelly Polk, Bethany Beach, High Point University; Sami Repass, Lewes, College of Charleston; Abby Taylor, Lewes, University of Vermont; Molly White, Lewes, University of Delaware; and Enzo Zechiel, Lewes, Lehigh University.

Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter