Middle school invitational attracts 546 runners

Beacon boys place second among 18 schools
October 31, 2019

The ninth annual Central Delaware Middle School Cross Country Invitational at Browns Branch County Park Oct. 30 attracted 18 schools and 546 runners in just two races. A total of 303 boys ran first, followed by 243 girls.

The boys’ race was won by Postlethwait with 51 points. Beacon was second with 93. Mariner placed seventh with 227, followed by Sussex Academy in eighth with 233 points. 

The girls’ race was won by Springer Middle with 57 points. Mariner was sixth with 169 points, Beacon was eighth with 248 and Sussex Academy was ninth with 256 points. 

Dante Hippolyte of Postlethwait was overall winner in the boys’ race in 12:52. Sophia Holgado of Holy Cross won the girls’ race in 13:25. 

The Beacon boys’ top seven runners were Trent Kauffman in 13:02, Eddie Houck in 13:24, Kaden Cherico in 13:44, Riley Stazzone in 14:00, Mason Morrone in 14:32, Jacob Goodsell in 14:38 and Brady Cunnane in 14:38. 

The Mariner top seven were Jia Han Xie in 13:45, Jackson Isaacs in 14:03, Jay’Lier Long in 14:31, Merric Mumford in 14:59, Jeremiah Hayes in 15:35, Connor Pencek in 15:45 and Brayden Redd in 15:57. 

The top seven for Sussex Academy were Hunter Megonigal in 13:50, Emmanuel Charles-Aine in 14:15, Kolbe Green in 14:21, Oscar Hageman in 15:10, Kyle Green in 15:16, William Ducote in 16:01 and Oliver Graves in 16:43. 

The Mariner girls’ top seven placers were Brooke Terhune in 14:33, Ali Stevenson in 15:35, Olivia Burkentine in 16:00, Anna Kucharik in 16:26, Sara Dawson in 17:13, Lillian Fisher in 17:51 and Liv Longo in 18:20. 

The Beacon top seven were Lindsay Fernandez in 15:18, Darci Croty in 16:44, Maya Yngve in 17:04, Sophia Masaro in 17:05, Anna Bener in 17:13, Elizabeth Lordan in 17:18 and Cayden Willis in 17:25.

The top seven for Sussex Academy were Katya Geyer in 14:46, Lily Bowe in 16:04, Sophie Noon in 17:11, Catherine Reilly in 17:41, Katrina Vallorosi in 17:55, Sage Tunnell in 18:15 and Caroline Adamcik in 18:45.


Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter