Sussex County property taxes due Sept. 30

September 20, 2018

Sussex County officials remind property owners that Sunday, Sept. 30, is the deadline to pay annual property tax bills.

Sussex County accepts tax payments by cash, check, money order, and debit or credit cards. Taxpayers have different options to make their payments.

Payment options include:

Through lender – Many taxpayers have their annual taxes paid out of escrow accounts by their mortgage lenders. Escrow customers do not receive paper bills. However, billed amounts are available online at; select the Sussex County self-service link on the page. If escrow customers have questions about their account status, they should contact their lenders.
Online – Payment can be made online with most major credit cards or by e-check. Go to and select online payment at the top right of the page.

By mail – Property owners can mail their tax payments using the return envelopes included with bills. Checks and money orders should be made payable to Sussex County Government and addressed to the Sussex County Treasury Division, PO Box 601, Georgetown, DE 19947. All payments sent by mail must be postmarked by Sept. 30 to be considered received on time. Unpaid balances are subject to monthly interest charges.

In person or by phone – The county payment center is open weekdays from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on the first floor of the county administrative offices building, 2 The Circle, Georgetown. A convenient and secure after-hours payment drop box also is available in the lobby.

For those making payment by telephone, call 1-866-791-9802. Callers must have their annual tax bill available when making a telephone payment. For more information, call 302-855-7871.