Thompson, Jacobs win Henlopen Acres election

Incumbent commissioners will be sworn in at town’s organizational meeting Sept. 9
August 27, 2022

Story Location:
Henlopen Acres Town Hall
104 Tidewaters
Henlopen Acres, DE 19971
United States

Incumbent Commissioners Richard Thompson and Jeffrey Jacobs won the Henlopen Acres annual municipal election that took place Saturday, Aug. 27.

Thompson received 100 votes - 68 the day of, 32 absentee. Jacobs received 98 votes - 62 the day of, 36 absentee. Nonresident challenger John Shedletsky received 17 votes - 9 the day of, 8 absentee.

In all, roughly 41 percent – 113 – of the town’s 273 registered voters participated in the election. There were 72 people who voted in person and 41 absentee voters. This year’s vote total was slightly lower than last year’s four-person contest, which was the first election in a decade for Henlopen Acres.

Thompson was first appointed in June 2018 to fill the seat of former Mayor David Lyons. He was unopposed for re-election in September 2019 for a 3-year term. Jacobs was appointed in July 2020 to fill the unexpired term of former Commissioner Frank Jamison.

Thompson and Jacobs will be sworn in for their three-year terms during the town’s organizational meeting Friday, Sept. 9.

Editor’s note: This story has been update with more election information and a new photo.


Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter