Conservation poster contest winners announced

January 10, 2017

The Delaware Association of Conservation Districts announced the 2016 winners of its annual conservation poster contest, which featured the theme, We All Need Trees.

Posters were judged on how well they convey the conservation theme, along with use of color, attention to detail, an easy-to-understand conservation message, originality and creativity. First-, second- and third-place winners in each grade category received gift cards valued at $50, $25 and $15 respectively, from their local Conservation District office. The first-place state winners received $50 from the Delaware Association of Conservation Districts.

First-place winners in Sussex County are Katelyn Wingate, grade 4-6, Lord Baltimore Elementary; Dorothy McCormick, grade 7-9 , McCarville Academy; and Lauren Thornburg, grade 10-12, Sussex Technical High School. McCormick is also the state-level winner, and her poster will be entered in the national contest sponsored by the National Association of Conservation Districts Ladies Auxiliary.

Delaware's poster contest also includes a category for computer-generated/graphic arts posters. The three Sussex County winners from Sussex Technical High School are Brittany Ritter, first place; Samantha Lee, second place; and Kate Bagshaw, third place.

The annual conservation poster contest gives students an opportunity to convey their artistic impressions about soil, water and related natural resources. The contest follows the annual Soil and Water Stewardship Week theme as sponsored by the National Association of Conservation Districts. The 2016 theme about trees encouraged people to remember the importance of trees to the environment and health. Trees give so many benefits: food, fiber, wood products, medicinal products, wildlife habitat, shade, water quality, oxygen and more.

The 2017 poster contest will focus on the theme, Healthy Soils Are Full of Life. For more information, go to the Stewardship and Education page at or contact Public Outreach Coordinator Rick Mickowski at 302-832-3100, Ext. 8979.