Sussex artists receive Delaware Division of Arts recognition

January 10, 2013

The Delaware Division of the Arts has announced the fiscal year 2013 winners of its Individual Artist Fellowship grants. Seventeen individual Delaware artists are being recognized for the high quality of their artwork in the visual arts, literature, music, jazz performance, choreography and folk arts. Artists were selected from towns throughout the state, and their work ranged from photography and sculpture to play writing and choreography.

The work of 85 applicants was judged by arts professionals from around the country. Through the IAF grants, the artists’ achievements are affirmed, helping provide the recognition and exposure artists need to successfully promote their work.

The artists receive financial awards - $3,000 for the Emerging category and $6,000 for the Established category - allowing them to pursue advanced training, purchase equipment and materials, or fulfill other needs to allow them to advance their careers.

The public will have an opportunity to see the varied artwork by these artists as they are required to have a public exhibit or performance showcasing their work in the upcoming year.

Listed below are the Sussex artists.

Established Professional: Linda Blaskey, Lincoln, Literature: Poetry; Anne Colwell, Milton, Literature: Fiction; Ann Jenkins, Milford, Folk Art: Visual; Aina Nergaard-Nammack, Lewes, Visual Arts: Painting; Karin Snoots, Harbeson,
Visual Arts: Painting.

Emerging Professional: Teresa Clifton, Milford, Literature: Fiction; Marjorie Weber, Lewes, Literature: Creative Nonfiction.

Honorable mentions: Georgia Leonhart, Rehoboth Beach, Literature: Creative Nonfiction; Michele Xiques, Milford, Choreography.

The next deadline for Individual Artist Fellowships applications is Aug. 1.

Welcome to The Cape Gazette Archive.
This content is provided free of charge
thanks to our sponsor:

Close ad in...

Close Ad