Eight Beebe nursing students earn Louise Jarmon Hopkinson Scholarship

The students of the Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing who earned the Louise Jarmon Hopkinson Scholarship are pictured with Alex Sydnor, president of Beebe Medical Foundation and vice president of External Affairs at Beebe Medical Center. They are in back (l-r) Andrew Hudson, Jillian Gamble, Sydnor, Thomasina Roe and Eric Lehr.  In front are Jill Petrone, Alexa Colegrove, Ashley Istenes and Breann Davidson. SOURCE SUBMITTED
April 9, 2013

Eight students of the Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing at Beebe Medical Center have earned the Louise Jarmon Hopkinson Scholarship.

Louise Jarmon Hopkinson was a 1932 graduate of the Beebe School of Nursing. She served in the U.S. Army Corps and as a private-duty nurse at Beebe Hospital for many years.

A generous bequest from the estate of Mrs. Hopkinson provides scholarship awards for the spring semester to Beebe Medical Center Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing senior and first-year students who have demonstrated academic excellence.

The school was renamed in 2011 following a $3 million donation from the Ma-Ran Foundation, established by R. Randall Rollins and Margaret Rollins of Atlanta.

The Beebe Medical Foundation manages and facilitates the awarding of the scholarship. The senior student recipients this year include Eric Lehr of Milford, Andrew Hudson of Seaford, Breann Davidson of Frederica and Ashley Ward Istenes of Townsend.

First-year recipients are Jill Petrone of  Lewes, Alexa Colegrove of Milton, Thomasina Roe of Lewes and Jillian Gamble of Selbyville.

Beebe Medical Center is a not-for-profit community medical center with a charitable mission to encourage healthy living, prevent illness, and restore optimal health with the people residing, working, or visiting in the communities it serves. For more information, go to

Welcome to The Cape Gazette Archive.
This content is provided free of charge
thanks to our sponsor:

Close ad in...

Close Ad