Lewes's British Car Show unmitigated success

May 24, 2013

The most recent “invasion” of Lewes by the British was not a replay of the War of 1812, nor did it involve cannons. What took place on the grounds of the Lewes Historical Society was the Lewes Chamber of Commerce-sponsored 18th Annual British Motorcar Show, “The British are Coming...Again!” More than 90 cars participated and were a big hit with the 1,000 plus spectators at the show. Assisted by perfect weather, this year’s show set a record for both the number of registered cars - 112 - and attendance at the show.

At the conclusion of the show, the cars took a spin around Lewes led by Mayor Jim Ford and a Lewes Police Department escort. The “Winners Circle Parade” made its way down Second Street where car show Chairman Mike Tyler announced the arrival of the winning cars in eight classes, including the Best in Show winner Jerry Hirst of Rehoboth Beach in his 1966 Morgan 4/4.

The chamber is indebted to the members of the committee led by Mike Tyler who introduced the event to Lewes 18 years ago and to the Lewes Historical Society for allowing us to stage the car show on its grounds again this year. Rose & Crown Restaurant took over the food service for the show in “Hiram’s Pub,” serving delicious British fare and brews.

Additionally, we thank the following organizations and individuals for their contributions to the show: British Car Club of Delaware and members of the club’s southern chapter who served on the committee and worked at the show - Mike Tyler, Tod Emeigh, Jerry Hirst, Rhon Jernigan Sr., Betty and Trevor Mees, Charlie O’Donnell and Bill Tattersall. We also thank Lewes Historical Society Executive Director Mike DiPaolo for facilitating the use of the Historic Complex where the society’s volunteers greeted visitors to the society’s historic buildings; Ray Book and Jay Reamer for car registration; Bill Tattersall for fabrication of the awards; members of the Lewes Police Department, Mayor Jim Ford and Gavin Braithwaite for their assistance with the parade’s awards ceremony; Ron Ladue, Jack Lesher, Don Ridzon and Richard Wheeler and members of the British Motor Car Club of Delaware for their assistance lining up the Winners’ Circle Parade; Jackie and Sharon Breita, Barbara Brittingham, Kathy Davison, Carolyn Jernigan, Hope Tyler, Marilyn Ridzon and Virginia Zrake for collecting entrance fees; Bob Lore and Ted Becker for tabulating the popular vote; City of Lewes Streets Department for equipment; Bill Larsen for music for the show and sound equipment at the awards presentation; Comcast Spotlight for their Weather Station crawls promoting the show and Great Scott Broadcasting for their live remote during the show, encouraging their listeners to attend the show. It worked!

Finally, we are most grateful to the owners of the fine classic British cars for sharing them with us for the day. Many of the cars were from outside of Delaware and we appreciate their enthusiasm and continued support of this crowd-pleasing event.

Betsy Reamer
executive director

  • A letter to the editor expresses a reader's opinion and, as such, is not reflective of the editorial opinions of this newspaper.

    To submit a letter to the editor for publishing, send an email to Letters must be signed and include a telephone number for verification. Please keep letters to 650 words or fewer.  We reserve the right to edit for content and length.