Delaware Tech’s Leadership Development Program graduates 13

Gathered at graduation ceremonies for Del Tech's Leadership Development Program are (l-r) Dr. Sharon L. Mossman; Charles R. Whealton; Kelly L. Davis; Elizabeth A. Rodier; Lisa J. Strusowski; Michelle R. Garey; Sara D. Stephens; Dr. Orlando J. George Jr.; Taryn E. Gassner; Holly E. Hawkins; Leslie A. Mergner; Kimberly L. Krzanowski; Chala R. Breen; and Dr. Mark A. Lafferty.
June 23, 2013

Delaware Technical Community College’s seventh Leadership Development Program class graduated at a ceremony held at the Terry Campus in Dover. Thirteen graduates, representing all four campus locations and the Office of the President, were honored at the college’s June board of trustees meeting.

Delaware Tech President Dr. Orlando J. George Jr. applauded the graduates’ hard work and commitment to expanding their leadership potential. “I am very proud of this program and the recent graduates. It is no surprise that several members of this class have already been given additional responsibilities, title changes or promotions. We have a program that develops talented individuals who become capable and confident leaders - they are the future of Delaware Tech.”

Delaware Tech’s Leadership Development Program was established in 1999 in response to a need for succession planning. All full-time employees - staff, faculty and administrators - are eligible to apply to the program. Participants who are selected are assigned mentors who are previous graduates or current college administrators.

Over the course of the rigorous 20-month program, participants attend seminars on leadership, management, curriculum and other critical areas. Participants conclude the program by creating an electronic portfolio that includes a professional development plan that emphasizes career goals and necessary leadership skills and experiences.

The graduates of the 2013 Leadership Development Program are, from the Office of the President, Taryn E. Gassner, international education director, and Sara D. Stephens, instructional designer.

Graduates of the Owens Campus include Chala R. Breen, senior special programs director; Kelly L. Davis, nursing instructor/instructional coordinator; Holly E. Hawkins, senior financial aid specialist; Leslie A. Mergner, business/entrepreneurship/office administration instructor/department chair; and Elizabeth A. Rodier, assistant to the campus director.

Stanton and Wilmington campus graduates are Kimberly L. Krzanowski, education instructional coordinator; Dr. Mark A. Lafferty, allied health/sciences department chair/instructional director; and Dr. Sharon L. Mossman, dental hygiene instructor.

Terry Campus graduates are Michelle R. Garey, mathematics instructor/department chair; Lisa J. Strusowski, business/entrepreneurship/office administration instructor/department chair; and Charles R. Whealton, computer information systems instructor.

Delaware Tech, the First State’s only community college, offers academic, technical, continuing education, and corporate and community training. Go to to learn more about Delaware Tech’s programs.