LYC swimmers win white division title

August 2, 2013
The Lewes Yacht Club swim team won its division and will move up in the rankings next season. BY DAN COOK

The Lewes Yacht Club swim team finished off the season taking first place in the white division during the July 27 championship meet at Western Sussex Boys and Girls Club in Seaford. Overall, the team finished in ninth place.

LYC had many team members and relays finish in the top 20. David Hentnick, in 13-14 boys, finished second in the 50-yard butterfly and third in the 100-yard individual medley to lead the team. In the same age group, Keegan Pando was seventh in the 50-yard breaststroke and eighth in the 100-yard IM. The pair, teamed with Michael Schrock and Matt Lionetti, took fifth in the 200-yard freestyle relay and sixth in the 200-yard medley relay.

Brian Fleming, in 7-8 boys, finished fifth in the 25-yard freestyle, 11th in the 25-yard backstroke and was on two third-place relay teams. He was teamed with Gannon Burris, Liam Hurtt and Aidan Moore, and the team took third in the 100-yard freestyle relay and teamed with Hurtt, Burris and Declan Morrissey, they were third in the 100-yard medley relay.

Madison Conrad, 9-10 girls, was third in the 25-yard freestyle and fourth in the 100-yard IM.

Other top 20 finishers for LYC included the following:

Boys 7-8: 25-yard butterfly, Gannon Burris, 14th; 25-yard breaststroke, Declan Morrissey, 15th; 25-yard freestyle, Gannon Burris, 16th.

Girls 7-8: 25-yard backstroke, Julia Rial, 8th; 25-yard breaststroke, Annie Carter, 18th; 100-yard freestyle relay team of Rial, Carter, Morgan White, Abby Betts, 8th; 100-yard medley relay team of Rial, Betts, Carter and Jacqueline Thomas, 4th.

Boys 9-10: 100-yard IM, Alex Koppenhaver, 13th, and Michael Cerchio, 14th; 25-yard butterfly, Michael Daniello, 17th; 25-yard breaststroke, Dylan Steinwedel, 18th; 100-yard freestyle relay team of Cerchio, Daniello, Steinwedel and Josh Reinhold, 6th; 100-yard medley relay team of Reinhold, Steinwedel, Daniello and Henry Bachtle, 7th.

Girls 9-10: 25-yard butterfly, Erin Morrissey, 18th; 25-yard breaststroke, Fiona Pando,12th; 100-yard freestyle relay team of Morrissey, Pando, Elizabeth Bodio and Madison Conrad, 5th; 100-yard IM, Pando, 13th.

Boys 11-12: 200-yard freestyle relay team of Michael Hentnick, Frankie Carter, Christopher Redefer and Brock Diaz, 11th.

Girls 11-12: 200-freestyle relay team of Emma Koppenhaver, Maddie Betts, Sydney Adamcik and Madison Buchwald, 13th; 200-yard medley relay team of Adamcik, Buchwald, Koppenhaver and Meghan Allen, 14th.

Boys 13-14: 50-yard breaststroke, Michael Schrock, 11th.

Girls 13-14: 200-freestyle relay team of Savannah Stewart, Steph Philcox, Lilly Bachtle and Sarah Spicer, 13th; 200-yard medley relay team of Philcox, Spicer, Bachtle and Stewart, 13th.

Girls 15-18: 50-yard butterfly, Hannah Schrock, 14th; 50-yard backstroke, Kaitlin Philcox, 11th; 200-yard freestyle relay team of Kaitlin Philcox, Sara Monroe, Oriana Pando, Hannah Schrock, 8th; 200-yard medley relay team of Philcox, Monroe, Schrock and Elena Campbell, 9th.

Boys 15-18: 50-yard freestyle, Daniel Myers, 19th.

David Hentnick is Swimmer of the Year

During the July 31 LYC team banquet, coaches Corey Cellurale and Renah Scudlark presented the following awards:

Team MVP: David Hentnick, 14.


Age-group MVPs: 6 and under: Jenna Reinhold and Evan Burris; 8 and under: Abby Betts and Brian Fleming; 10 and under: Madison Conrad and Michael Daniello; 12 and under: Madison Buchwald and Brock Diaz; 14 and under: Sarah Spicer and Keegan Pando; 18 and under: Kaitlin Philox and Danny Myers.

Most improved swimmers: Six and under: Shelby Manlove and Sawyer Carter; 8 and under: Julia Rial and Gannon Burris; 10 and under: Elizabeth Bodio and Dylan Steinwedel; 12 and under: Sydney Adamcik and Christopher Redefer.

Rookies of the Year: Travers and Lex Johnson; Jenna and Josh Reinhold; and Evan and Gannon Burris.


Coaches Choice awards: Michael Schrock, Michael Hentnick, Emma Koopenhaver, Gabby Orsini, William Burke, Maddie Betts, Sarah Beaverson, Gibson Hurtt, Liam Hurtt, Morgan White, Erin Morrissey and Elena Campbell.


Welcome to The Cape Gazette Archive.
This content is provided free of charge
thanks to our sponsor:

Close ad in...

Close Ad