DSGA Scholarship Fundraiser Tournament coming to Cape Region

September 13, 2013

The Cape Region has a long history of supporting junior golf as well as scholastic achievement.

For example, the Rehoboth Beach Junior Open, held each June, attracts more than 100 young golfers. That day's festivities include the announcement of the winners of scholarships awarded by the Delaware State Golf Association's Scholarship Fund.

Ron Barrows, the now-retired Rehoboth Beach Country Club golf pro, remains very active with the DSGA Fund, which holds a fall golf tournament to help raise the scholarship money the fund awards.

This year's tournament returns to Rehoboth Beach Country Club Oct. 7, beginning with lunch at 11:30 a.m. The shotgun start begins at 1 p.m.

Each foursome competes using the one best ball of four net format. Players without official USGA handicaps will have a handicap calculated for them, based on a modified Calloway system.

Single entrants are welcome. Their entry fee is $175 apiece, but foursome entries save $60 with a $640 fee.

For more information, contact the DSGA at 302-234-3365, or write them at 7234 Lancaster Pike, Suite 302-B, Hockessin, DE 19707.

Local club competition results

The Kings Creek Country Club combined its two Ladies Golf Leagues for a Low Net Scramble team tournament Sept. 6.

Linda Outlaw, Prabhat Karapurkar, Carolyn Shriver and Barb Hines won first place. The second spot went to Marilyn Hewitt, Brenda Butterfield, Susan Eisenbrey and Margie Moore. The team of Ana Dittel, Rosanne Smith, Monica Fleischmann and Carolyn Ortwein finished in third.

On Sept. 14, the Rehoboth Beach Country Club 18 Hole Ladies Golf Association played a Two Best Balls of Four Net tournament.

Judy Bennett, Carole Medd, Pris Desena and Ella Alexander combined for a net 124 and first place on a match of cards. They just edged out the second-place team of Pauline Porter, Arlene Simms, Elaine Taylor and Kathy McGuiness.

In the blind draw category, first place went to Jeanne Allen, Kathy Curry, Arlene Simms and Sharon Emerson, whose combined efforts totaled a low 118 net.

Bailey Scheurer was low gross scorer for the day with her 82, and Suzanne Moore's 68 was the best low net score.

The Rookery golf gang held their second annual combined club championship Sept. 8 and 9. The first round took place at the South Course near Milton, and the tournament concluded at the North Course, the former Shawnee Country Club.

Dale Jarrell won the Men's Championship, with a combined five-over-par 146 total. Tim Freeh finished in second place, two strokes back. Scott Shockley's 149 earned him third-place honors.

Lisa Hutchins defended her 2012 club championship, with an 11-over 82 the first day and an 8-over 79 for her second round. Sonya Dilworth scored a combined 173 for her second-place finish.

Larry Engle is this year's Senior Club Champion. His 150 total was five strokes better than Jay Reed, who finished two strokes ahead of Bob Romberger in third place.

In the Men's First Flight, Allen Wagaman took first place with his 154, with Reed and Romberger again finishing in second and third place respectively.

Jim Lingo won the Second Flight with his 163. Dan Simmons came in second with his 167 and Tom Frantz took third place with his 170.

For the Third Flight, Al Lynch's 177 was good for first place, while Shad McDuff finished in second with his 187.

Ann Reed was low net for the women competing, with a six-over-par 148 total. Gerald Burbage finished low net for the men with a six-under 135 total.

Welcome to The Cape Gazette Archive.
This content is provided free of charge
thanks to our sponsor:

Close ad in...

Close Ad