Shields students win fire prevention contest plaques

Presenting plaques to winners are (l-r) in the back row, Principal Jenny Naumann and Lewes Fire Department volunteers Don Clemons, Caddie Joseph, Chubbie Joseph, Patty Marvel and Bob Nicholson. Student winners in the middle row are (l-r) Minami Sano, Bailey Fletcher, Ella Marinucci, Ryan Pickard, Krish Prattipati, Else Leebel, Kyla Collick, Mallory Lemin, Gannon Burris, Ashlyn Andrew and Ryan Andrew. In the front row are (l-r) Amanda Lima-Rodriquez, Chelsea Tabaco, Anejah Johnson-Grace, Matthew Yunis, Dayanna Maull, Mallory Terhune and Jack Thomson BY RON MACARTHUR
January 22, 2014

Members of the Lewes Fire Department handed out awards Jan. 8 to Richard Shields Elementary School winners in the 2013 fire prevention poster and essay contests. Students in fourth and fifth grades participate in the essay contest and all other students draw posters. First-grader Ella Marinucci was the only Shields student to place in the state contest getting a third-place award.

Shields winners are:

Kindergarten – Ryan Andrew, first place; Amanda Lima-Rodriquez, first place; Giana Maull, second place; Anejah Johnson-Grace, second place; Matthew Yunis, third place; and Mallory Terhune, third place.

First grade – Ella Marinucci, first place local and the county and third place in the state; Krish Prattipati, second place; and Jack Thomson, third place.

Second grade – Bailey Fletcher, first place local and third place in the county; Chelsea Tabaco, second place; and Ashlyn Andrew, third place.

Third grade – Minami Sano, first place local and second place in the county; Ryan Pickard, second place; and Gannon Burris, third place.

Fifth grade – Else Leebel, first place; Kyla Collick, second place; and Mallory Lemin, third place.