Cape wrestling wins Hub Cup Invitational

Lopez, Mattinoni and Ott win in finals
January 15, 2014
Celebrating Cape's top performance in the Hub Cup Invitational are (l-r) Elliot Young, Vincent Diego, J.J. Currie, Nick Diego, Andre Flowers, Justin Lopez, Nick Carroll, Emerson Fijardo, Tom Ott, Justin Wright, Aaron Mattioni, Dante Jaquet and coach Chris Mattioni. In front is Austin Smith. BY SUBMITTED

The Cape wrestling team of coach Chris Mattioni captured the 27th annual Hub Cup Invitational Tournament Jan. 10 and 11 at North Hagerstown High School riding the strength of three victories in the championship round.

Cape finished with 192 points, beating host North Hagerstown with 188 and Musselman with 172. Vikings Justin Lopez at 170 pounds, Aaron Mattioni at 195, and Thomas Ott at 220,  were all crowned tournament champions.

Austin Smith placed third in the 160-pound class, while J.J. Currie was fourth for Cape at 152.

Andre Flowers, 182 pounds, was fifth while Nick Diego placed sixth at 145.

Emerson Fajardo, 106 pounds; Vinnie Diego, 145; and Elliot Young, 132, placed seventh while Nick Carroll placed eighth at 285.

"It was perfect that it came down to Justin, Aaron and Thomas, all teammates in middle school on on a Team Delaware squad that I coached," said Mattioni.

Sussex Tech won its second tournament of the season, winning the Bob Rowe Wrestling Tournament at James M. Bennent High School. Varsity place winners for the Ravens were Donnie Tingle, third; Ju'Wan Massey, first; Tyler Jump, fourth; Cole Hineline, third; Hunter Robles, third; Matt Wilson, second; Kris Cannon, fifth, Dimarco Dorsey, second; Matt Tull, third; Dalton Scheuerman, seventh; Josh James, seventh; Ryan Parker, second; Zach Bell, third; and Tony Crew, fifth.

Hub Cup team scores: 1. Cape Henlopen 192; 2. North Hagerstown 188; 3. Musselman 172; 4. Williamsport 157; 5. South Carroll 151; 6. Mountain Ridge 147.5; 7. Waynesboro 142; 8. Buckhannon-Upshor 141.5; 9. Woodgrove 135; 10. Catoctin 126; 11. Urbana 125; 12. DeMatha Catholic 109.5; 13. Paint Branch 105; 14. Southern Garrett 98; 15. Quince Orchard 69; 16. Magruder 58; 17. Boonsboro 55; 18. Berkeley Springs 38.5; 19. Saint James 37; 20. Greencastle-Antrim 33; 21. Frederick 18.5; 22. Silver Oak 18; 23. South Hagerstown 15.

Championship finals: 106: Devan Hamrick (SG) d. Joey Thomas (SC) 4-1; 113:  Justin Beckley (Wil) d. Tim Null (SC) 6-4, OT; 120: Bradley DeRito (Mus) d. Cody Matthews (MR) 3-2; 126: Tyler Makosy (Urb) d. Shane Conners (SC) 5-2; 132: Dalton Hawkins (Bo) d. Hunter Faith (NH) 9-2; 138: Kody Kernan (Mus) d. Morgan Way (Urb) 7-2; 145: Brendon Colbert (NH) d. Charlie Perella (Cat) 5-2; 152: Adam Martz (MR) d. Jake David (WG) 4-0; 160: Seth Cutright (BU) d. Danny Arndt (Mus) 11-4; 170: Justin Lopez (CH) inj. def. Wade Slatniske (SC); 182: Jake Pooton (SC) d. David Stas (Mus) 9-6; 195: Aaron Mattioni (CH) p. Dakota Pfeiffer (Bo) 0:48; 220: Thomas Ott (CH) d. Richard Meehan (DC) 3-2; 285: Connor Tilton (QO) p. Nick Keller (Ur) 1:53.

Welcome to The Cape Gazette Archive.
This content is provided free of charge
thanks to our sponsor:

Close ad in...

Close Ad