Clear Space begins 10th year with new officers and awards

February 8, 2014
"Radio Gaga," an original production, received several Broadway/ awards in 2013, including Best New Work. Clear Space Theatre garnered 15 awards for its 2013 productions. SOURCE SUBMITTED

Founded in 2004, Clear Space Theatre embarks on its 10th anniversary season with new officers and 15 awards recognizing artistic achievements in 2013.

After three years as chair of the Clear Space Board of Directors, Kay Ryan of Bethany Beach has turned over the leadership to Chris Berg, a resident of Rehoboth Beach. Following the recent election of new officers, Ryan will continue to serve as vice chair of the board. Curtis Christensen, a resident of Cadbury in Lewes, was elected as the board’s new treasurer. Joan Thomas, also of Bethany Beach, will continue to serve as the board’s secretary.

“I am grateful for Kay’s leadership of the board,” said Wesley Paulson, executive director of Clear Space.  “Kay was the right person at the right time and guided the company through a restructuring of the organization while maintaining the company’s focus on providing a quality performing arts experience for the community.”

Clear Space also received recognition from for artistic achievements in 2013, garnering the top award in 15 out of 27 categories. The full listing of awards may be found at These 15 awards included Best Actress in a Musical (Professional) Abby Toomey - "9 to 5"; Best Actress in a Play (Professional) Cheryl Graves - "The Foreigner"; Best Choreography (Professional) Shondelle Alessi-Graulich - "Radio Gaga"; Best Costume Design (Professional) Nancy Alexander - "9 to 5"; Best Director of a Musical (Professional) David Button - "9 yo 5"; Best Ensemble Performance in a Play "The Foreigner"; Best Featured Actress in a Musical Mary O'Neill - "The Sound of Music"; Best Featured Actress in a Play Erin Williams - "The Foreigner"; Best Lighting Design (Professional) Brendan Smith - "Radio Gaga"; Best Musical (Professional) "9 to 5"; Best New Work (Professional) David Button - "Radio Gaga"; Best Set Design (Professional) Kevin Smith - "The Foreigner"; Best Sound Design (Professional) Kevin Carter - "Radio Gaga"; Best Younger Actor (under age 25) Hunter Graves - "La Cage aux Folles"; Best Younger Actress (under age 25) Dallas DiGuiglielmo - "Really Rosie."

Doug Yetter, artistic director and cofounder of Clear Space Theatre Company, said, “2013 was a terrific season for CSTC, and having the artistic quality of our actors' and creative teams’ work recognized is a wonderful tribute. Knowing that our shows were recognized for every aspect of production is especially rewarding.”

Clear Space Theatre began its 10th season Jan. 31 with a production of the female version of Neil Simon’s "The Odd Couple." For further information on Clear Space Theatre, including biographical information for the entire Clear Space staff and directors, go to