It’s the merry, merry month of May

May 16, 2014

Easter came late this year and Memo­rial Day weekend is coming early. Suddenly it’s all happening fast. By all indications, it will be a strong season along the coast. Rehoboth Beach-Dewey Beach Chamber of Commerce Direc­tor Carol Everhart said recently that requests for information are way up from last year. She said rental activity is also strong, based on what she’s hearing. That means lots of jobs to be filled - lots of employers looking for lots of qualified employees.

That brings us to this week’s election for Cape Henlopen school board. Five well-qual­ified candidates concerned about education vied for one open seat. That level of inter­est bodes well for the future of education in Delaware’s Cape Region. All of us depend on a strong educational system to prepare our children for the workforce and their careers. Congratulations to Alison Myers for her victory. Thanks also to Andy Lewis who ran unopposed and will contribute another five years to the volunteer school board.

Also on the election front, congratulations to incumbent Bonnie Osler and newcomer Rob Morgan on their victories in the Lewes election. That was a contested election with lots of issues, discussion and debate. The elec­tion generated dozens and dozens of letters to the Cape Gazette which provided a de­tailed sense of the issues on the minds of the citizens of Lewes. Congratulations also to Ted Becker whose many years as an active deputy mayor gave him an unopposed election to the mayor’s post.

Finally, this May sees the end of Jim Ford’s 10 years in the Lewes mayor’s position. Ford won every election he ever ran in, and all of his bids for re-election were unopposed. That’s as fine a testament as there could be for the residents’ appreciation for Ford’s hard work.

Our Cape Region community is strong be­cause so many good people are willing to give their time freely for the benefit of all.


  • Cape Gazette editorials are considered and written by members of the Cape Gazette editorial board which includes Dennis Forney, publisher; Trish Vernon, editor; Dave Frederick, sports editor emeritus; Laura Ritter, news editor; Jen Ellingsworth, associate editor; and Nick Roth, sports editor.