Georgetown Train Station reopens

Shown at the ribbon cutting are in back (l-r) Toby Givens, HGA president; Joan Tyndall, Sergovic Carmean & Weideman;  Russ McCabe, former Delaware State archivist; and David Anderson, Georgetown councilman-elect. In the middle row are Bill West, Georgetown mayor-elect; Sam Wilson, county council; Mike Wyatt, Georgetown mayor; Rep. Dave Wilson, R-Bridgeville; and Rep. Ruth Briggs King, R-Georgetown. In front are Martin Donovan, Historic Georgetown Association; Carlton Moore, HGA founder; Ruth Ann Minner, former governor of Delaware; Helen Kruger, Chamber membership chair; Harriett Smith Windsor, former secretary of state; Chris Lecates, Georgetown councilwoman-elect; and John Rieley, chamber president. BY STEVEN BILLUPS
May 27, 2014

The historic Georgetown Train Station reopened in a ribbon-cutting ceremony sponsored by the Georgetown Chamber of Commerce. The train station's second floor was severely damaged in a fire in 2011. Local and state officials, who originally helped to revive the train station and open it back in 2003, were on hand to help cut the ribbon on the new train station.


Welcome to The Cape Gazette Archive.
This content is provided free of charge
thanks to our sponsor:

Close ad in...

Close Ad