School of Nursing at Beebe graduates Class of 2014

June 5, 2014

The Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing at Beebe Healthcare recently celebrated the Class of 2014 graduation with 24 graduates at Epworth United Methodist Church in Rehoboth Beach.

Connie Bushey, MSN, MEd, RN, the recently retired director of the School of Nursing and one of the school’s esteemed alumni, was the honored commencement speaker. Dawn Crouch, president of the class of 2015, presented congratulations to the graduates. Danielle LeGates, president of the class of 2014, shared class reflections and a video with her classmates.

The Hon. William Swain Lee, chair of Beebe Healthcare’s Board of Directors, presented the Board of Directors Award for the highest academic achievement to Jill Petrone. The Beebe Healthcare Medical Staff sponsored the Salutatorian Award for the second-highest academic achievement, which was presented by Medical Staff President Paul Peet, MD, FAAFP, to Thomasina Roe. The Alumni Award, given for Medical-Surgical Clinical Excellence in District Nursing, was presented to Alexa Colegrove. The Patient Care Director’s Leadership Award was presented to Danielle LeGates.

The Beebe Healthcare Auxiliary presented their award honoring the graduate who excelled academically, clinically, and in community involvement to Candace Conaway. Leah Smith received the Maternal Child Award, given by Eleanor Cordrey in memory of her sister Virginia Cottingham to the graduate demonstrating an interest in maternal-child nursing. Katrina Sellers received the Dr. David Howard Memorial Award. The Bayside Health Association Award honoring the memory and characteristics of Alison Trout was presented to Megan Shockley. Shauntey Singletary was honored with the Faculty Award recognizing the attributes of diploma education.

Cancer in Common of Rehoboth honored Sarah Lowe with its award recognizing the graduate with an interest in cancer. Jenna Wilgus was the recipient of the Delaware Hospice Award honoring an exemplary graduate exhibiting a compassionate philosophy in all aspects of care. Danielle LeGates, Jill Petrone, Jessie Simpson, and Ashley Willey were honored for their perfect attendance. The grandmother of a graduate, Dr. Vanessa Lee, shared the invocation, and the benediction was presented by Pastor Rick Betts, uncle of one of the graduates.

Joan G. Thomas, MSN, FACHE, RN, interim director of the School of Nursing, along with class advisors Joy Bartell, MSN, RN, CNE and Nicole Hall, MSN, MBA, RN presented the graduates with their school pins. Jeffrey M. Fried, FACHE, president and CEO of Beebe Healthcare, presented the diplomas.

Members of the Class of 2014 are: Jennifer Byler, Alexa Colegrove, Candace Conaway, Debra Demopoulos, Alyssa Edwards, Jillian Gamble, Samantha Halla, Danielle LeGates, Sarah Lowe, Meryha Michels, Whitney Mott-Lynn, Jill Petrone, Tatiana Richardson, Thomasina Roe, Brandi Romano, Katrina Sellers, Amber Shetzler, Megan Shockley, Jessie Simpson, Shauntey Singletary, Leah Smith, Chelsey Webb, Jenna Wilgus, and Ashley Willey.

A reception and fellowship was shared following the graduation in the Epworth UM Church Fellowship Hall.

The Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing at Beebe Healthcare is the only hospital-based nursing program in Delaware and is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing. The diploma in professional nursing is awarded at the completion of the curriculum, qualifying graduates to be eligible for the National Council of State Boards of Nursing NCLEX examination leading to licensure. The School of Nursing graduates have consistently had NCLEX pass rates that are above the national average and can complete a bachelor's in nursing degree at Wilmington University and University of Delaware through well-defined articulation agreements.

Welcome to The Cape Gazette Archive.
This content is provided free of charge
thanks to our sponsor:

Close ad in...

Close Ad