Cape lacrosse teams honored at Legislative Hall

Cape school board recognizes teams to close out long day
The synergy and symbolism are stated perfectly, "You have to step up if you want to win a championship." Cape's boys' and girls' teams with (in front l-r) coach P.J. Kesmodel, Sen. Ernie Lopez, and coach Jack Lingo. Also shown are Sarah Rambo, Kaite Klabe, Charlie Burton, Christian Prestipino, Iseabal Cryne, Korinne LeMaire, Karissa LeMaire, Juan Saez, James Ashby, Sam Broadhurst, Katherine Judge, Kyle Orton, A.J. Marshall, Coryn Cannon, Lindsey Voss, Sean Lally, Garret Becker, Karalyn Joseph, Sarah Hyde, Chris DePrince, Nicholas Conrad, Lizzie Frederick, Allison Palmer, Luke Benson, Hank Coveleski, Allie Yeager, Taylor Gooch, Chris Argo, Thomas Ott, Michael Hopkins and Todd Keen. BY DAVE FREDERICK
June 13, 2014

The Big Yellow Taxi driven by Fred Harvey with a cargo of champions dieseled to Dover June 12, commencing a day of honoring Cape's state championship lacrosse teams that would last seven hours from post to paddock.

The teams were recognized and honored in the House chambers by Rep. Steve Smyk, R-Milton, and House Speaker Rep. Pete Schwartzkopf, D-Rehoboth Beach, then in the Senate by Sen. Ernie Lopez, R-Lewes, who spoke to his colleagues about Cape's accomplishments. The teams finished the Dover trip with a late-afternoon meeting and photo shoot inside the office of Gov. Jack Markell.

The bus then motored south, stopping at Grotto Pizza in Milford for player refueling, before heading to Mariner to be recognized and honored by the Cape Henlopen School District Board of Education.

A few of the girls changed from summer dresses to lax practice gear for a 7 p.m. Eastern Shore Lacrosse practice at Champions  Stadium.

Both teams will enjoy their state championship banquets this week.