Sussex County Amateur Radio Emergency Service receives state council award

June 21, 2014

Sussex County Amateur Radio Emergency Service received an Outstanding Service Award from the Delaware Advisory Council on Career and
 Technical Education during a ceremony and reception held June 11 in Dover.

 This award is presented to businesses, individuals, and organizations that 
provide exemplary service and contributions to the field of Career and
 Technical Education and the citizens of Delaware.

Recipients are nominated by leaders from business, industry, and education, 
and are honored for the significant and positive contributions they have 
 Sussex County Amateur Radio Emergency Service was nominated for the award 
by Joseph Booth, a community leader and staff member of Sussex Technical 
High School in Georgetown, in recognition of the group's continued 
support of the school's amateur radio club, K3STR, and student mentorship.
 Also recognized was the role that ARES played in arranging the donation of a 
fully equipped communications van to the school. The nomination further
 recognized ARES for its role in the reconfiguration of the van in support of
 Student Senior Projects.

Emergency Coordinator Bill Duveneck accompanied by Deputy Emergency Coordinator Patrick Ryan and assistant emergency 
coordinators Chuck Betyeman, Bill Prettyman and Herb Quick, accepted the award from advisory council Chairman Samuel Lathem.

The Amateur Radio Emergency Service consists of licensed amateur
 radio operators who have voluntarily registered their qualifications and
 equipment with their local ARES leadership for communications duty and
 support in the public service. It is the emergency communications component 
of the American Radio Relay League.

 ARRL is the national association and advocate for amateur radio in the United States. Today, with more than 161,000 members, ARRL is 
the largest organization of radio amateurs in the world.