Eastern Shore Writers Association elects new board

New board members of the Eastern Shore Writers Association include in back (l-r) Sherry Thomas, Susan Jones, Joan Cooper, Jerry Sweeney and Jo Ebling. In front are Suzanne Sanders and Charlene Marcum. Not pictured is Denise Clemons. SOURCE SUBMITTED
July 4, 2014

At the Eastern Shore Writers Association June meeting, the membership elected a new board for the 2014-15 season.

President Gerald F. Sweeney is the author of a series of seven novels called "The Columbiad" that reflect on the adventures of one family journeying through the 20th century. Vice President Susan Jones is a professional musician (clarinet and piano) and a librarian. Her book, "Words’ Worth’s Vocabulary Verse A to Z and Back Again," is compiled from her collection of light verse.

Secretary Denise Clemons is a former technology executive who now lives in Lewes. She is a published poet and writes a weekly cooking column, Cape Flavors. Treasuer Charlene Marcum is a consummate professional with a list of interesting careers. She is a therapist, writer, designer, actress and educator. She has won awards for her volunteer work.

Parliamentarian Joan D. Cooper is a novelist, and a language and literature teacher for Wicomico County schools. She is a member of the Salisbury/Rabbit Gnaw Writer's Critique Group, a sponsor of Brownbox Theatre Project's Free Shakespeare at the Beach Program and an advisor for Poetry Out Loud students.

Member-at-Large Suzanne Sanders is a former freelance writer who has recently renewed her literary aspirations. She has been an officer of Shore Gymnastics Parents Organization and a board member of Dance Harrison Street. Member-at-Large Cheril Thomas is a member of the Maryland Writers Association. She helps manage the Delmarva Review.

Member-at-Large Jo Ebling is an artist and writer of creative memoirs and technical material. She is program coordinator at Evergreen: A Center for Balanced Living. She works with ESWA to coordinate writing workshops and has contributed to the organization’s membership drive.

Serving 250 authors across Delmarva, ESWA continues to expand its mission to aid writers in their search for higher standards by managing the annual Bay-to-Ocean Writers’ Conference and through the publication of the Delmarva Review. Other events include ESWA’s monthly meetings that feature notable local authors such as David Mercier, Jamie Brown, Anne Colwell, Robert Day, Sue Ellen Thompson, Mindie Burgoyne and other writers and educators. Workshops and public appearances at local libraries and bookshops offer members the chance to hone and present their creative efforts. For more information go to