Rehoboth Art League honors artists at Members' Fine Arts Show

John Schisler poses with his winning entry "Group Support." BY DENY HOWETH
July 30, 2014

Artists and patrons gathered for an opening reception at the Rehoboth Art League July 18.

This is the first year for photographic entries. William Horn was the founder of the '50's Rehoboth Camera Club, and an award was created for photographic entries.

Sarah Ethel Tunnel Award: Best in Show; Barbara Petterson, “Stephanie Anne”

Mary Hall Leach Award: Outstanding Work; Isabel Pizzolato, “From the Pantry”

Thomas McFarland Skelly Award: Painting of Exceptional Merit, any medium, John Schisler, “Group Support”

Louise Chambers Corkran Award: Best Sculpture; Pam Foss, “Midday at the Wheatfield”

William Horn Award: Best Photograph; Gloria Schelling, “Written Notice”

Faucett Okie Award: Emerging Delaware Artist; Paul Treadway, “Blue Heron”

Howard Schroeder Sketch Group Award: Portrait or Figurative Work (Sponsored by the Rehoboth Art League Sketch Group); Wayne N. Weeks, “The Novelist”

Lucille K. Megee Award: Honorable Mention; Pamella Bounds-Seemans, “Jesus Takes a Vacation in Rehoboth”

Mary Derrickson McCurdy Memorial Award: Honorable Mention; Steven Billups, “Dunes”

Mrs. Robert McClellan Award: Honorable Mention; William Snow, “Morning Light, Sanary-Sur-Mer”

Adelia E. Chiswell Award: Best Watercolor; Cheryl Wisbrock, “Green Shed”

Village Improvement Association Award: Two Local Artists; Tom Planer, “Gazeball,” Tina Nigh-Johnson, “A Difficult Perspective”

Col. W. S. Corkran Award: Painting representative of the Eastern Shore of Sussex County (east of Route 113); Robert Schnepfe, “Pathway To the Beach”