UD student Sara Westhafer shines as scholarship recipient

Philanthropic Educational Organization supports young college women
Congratulating scholarship recipient Sara Westhafer on her commitment to education are (l-r) Brenda Chisholm, Chapter L Scholarship Fund chair; Dianne Deming, state president, P.E.O.; Westhafer; and Eileen Cheney, P.E.O Chapter L president. SOURCE SUBMITTED
August 16, 2014

As she begins her junior year at the University of Delaware, Sara Westhafer, a resident of Sussex County, continues to shine as a recipient of a scholarship from the Philanthropic Educational Organization, Chapter L, Lewes. She is working on a triple major with plant science, plant pathology and entomology.

Westhafer is serving as vice president of the Horticulture Club, which was founded in 1976 and is one of the oldest clubs in UD’s College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. She is also involved in the Entomology Club, in which the members share their interest in insects and go on field trips for research collection. This spring she became a member of Alpha Zeta fraternity. The Delaware chapter was founded in 1916 and is a professional, coed agricultural fraternity.

She still finds time to work in the Morris Library on campus in the stacking unit through a work-study program. Next year, she will be working as a plant pathology research assistant under Dr. Nicole Donofrio.

P.E.O. Sisterhood, founded Jan. 21, 1869, at Iowa Wesleyan College, Mount Pleasant, Iowa, is a philanthropic education organization giving scholarships to deserving young women throughout the world. There are approximately 6,000 local chapters in the United States and Canada, with nearly 250,000 members.

Westhafer represents the typical student the organization seeks to receive financial help along the road to higher education. Chapter L’s Scholarship Fund within the P.E.O Foundation enables Chapter L to assist women living in Delaware with their college expenses.

Those who know of a deserving young woman should submit the name to Suellen Gallamore, 302-227-1304, chair of the Chapter L Scholarship Fund; or Eileen Cheney, 302-644-7258, president of Chapter L.