Cooper secures ninth term in Rehoboth

August 10, 2014

Sam Cooper has been elected to his ninth term as mayor of Rehoboth Beach, defeating Tom McGlone 685 votes to 364.

Joining Cooper on the city commission will be incumbent Lorraine Zeller and Kathy McGuiness who will each serve three-year terms as commissioners.

Cooper was the leading vote-getter overall, followed by McGuiness' 611 and Zellers' 584. Planning commissioner Francis "Bunky" Markert finished with 377 votes. Rounding out the field were Larry Myslewski with 171 votes while John Meng had 163.

Afterwards, McGlone shook Cooper's hand and told him congratulations.

Zellers was reelected to her third term in office; McGuiness, who resigned from office in 2012 after four terms, returns to the seat she held for nearly 12 years.

There were 270 absentee ballots received out of 282 sent out. On an unofficial count, Cooper led the way with 167 absentee votes followed by Zellers' 152. McGuiness finished with 132 with Markert next at 123. McGlone received 98 absentee votes, Myslewski finished with 28 absentee votes and Meng had 27.