Cape field hockey holds state championship banquet

December 5, 2018

The Cape field hockey team celebrated its second straight DIAA State Championship at its banquet Dec. 2 at Baywood Greens. The Vikings defeated Padua 5-0 in the final game to capture the DIAA title.

The Vikings have won the state championships in 1979, 1995, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2017 and 2018.

The banquet started with a review of the season and historical perspective from emcee Dave “Fredman” Frederick, sports editor emeritus at the Cape Gazette. JV head coach Jenna Burkhart followed with the junior varsity awards.

Tia Jarvis received the JV Sportsmanship Award, while Molly Mendes received the Spirit Stick for 2018 and Riley Klopp was presented the JV MVP Award.

Varsity assistant coach Debbie Windett then presented the varsity awards to Taylor Smith, Spirit Award; Anna Harrington, Sportsmanship Award; Emily Monigle, Most Improved Award; Jackie Cannon and Marlee Geppert, Unsung Hero Awards; Anna Stancofski, Defensive MVP Award; Cameron Smith, Offensive MVP Award; Reagan Ciabattoni, Rising Star Award; Darby Klopp, Barbara Dougherty One Tough Cookie Award; Maci Long, Mike Eisenhour Dedication to the Program Award; Amanada Sponaugle, Ruth Skoglund Most Dedicated Athlete Award; Marcella Sabbagh, Carolyn Ivins Award for the senior who best demonstrates dedication and commitment; and Alia Marshall, MVP Award.