Cape hockey team celebrates state championship

Alia Marshall receives MVP Award
December 18, 2017

The Cape Henlopen field hockey team celebrated its 2017 DIAA State Championship Dec. 16 with a brunch at the Baywood Greens clubhouse. It was the first Division I state championship in the state, as the DIAA split schools into two divisions prior to the season. Cape has won eight state championships in its history, including six of the last seven.

Receiving the varsity MVP Award was Alia Marshall, who had 14 goals and nine assists this season. Lindsay Monigle received the Most Improved Award, while Mel McCloy and Anna Stancofski were presented with the Unsung Hero Award.

Marcella Sabbagh won the Defensive MVP Award, Cam Smith took the Offensive MVP Award, Katie Frederick garnered the Spirit Award, and the Sportsmanship Award was presented to Kaylie Truitt.

Darby Klopp was presented the Mike Eisenhour Dedication to the Program Award, Jody Boyer was presented the Ruth Skoglund Most Dedicated Athlete Award, Annie Judge was presented the Carolyn Ivins Award, and Carly Truitt was presented with the prestigious One Tough Cookie Award.

The junior varsity MVP Award was presented to Paige Ludwicki, while the JV Sportsmanship Award went to Destiny Kusen.