Saliba, Marasco sworn in to Lewes council

Officials fill commission seats
May 21, 2024

Amy Marsco and Khalil Saliba were sworn in May 20 for three-year terms on Lewes City Council.

It is Marasco’s first term after serving on the Lewes Planning Commission and chairing the commission’s environmental subcommittee.

“I’m excited and honored to serve,” she said. “I look forward to creating innovative ways to engage our citizens as we take on challenges for our future.”

Saliba will be serving his second term on council. He was also appointed to continue serving as deputy mayor.

Mayor Andrew Williams announced the following appointments:

• Councilman Tim Ritzert, secretary

• Marasco, treasurer

• Councilman Joe Elder, assistant treasurer and finance committee 

• Alex Burns, city solicitor

• John Robitaille, code enforcement officer

• Williams, ex officio, Lewes Board of Public Works

• Marasco, ex officio, BPW Finance Committee

• Marasco and Ritzert, ex offici, planning commission

• Elder, ex officio, historic preservation architectural review commission

• Ritzert, ex officio, parks and recreation commission and public art committee

• Saliba, ex officio, African American heritage commission and bicycle and pedestrian advisory committee. Saliba will also oversee intergovernmental relations

• Williams and Marasco, ex offici, mitigation planning team.

City Clerk Ashley Akgoren will manage the city’s Freedom of Information Act requirements.

Mayor and city council also unanimously approved Barbara Warnell to fill the unexpired term of Michael Weider on the historic preservation architectural review commission.

Deb Hansen was approved to fill Warnell’s HPARC seat.

Mayor and city council approved Bill Wolfe to fill the Lewes Planning Commission seat of Chair Nancy Staisey, who is stepping down. Council also approved Marylinda Maddi to fill Marasco’s unexpired term on the commission.

The link to the May 20 meeting can be found at


Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter