Bill Stevens re-elected mayor of Dewey Beach

Commissioners sworn in; Bauer elected secretary
October 3, 2023

Dewey Beach commissioners voted unanimously to elect Bill Stevens to his third one-year term as mayor during a jovial organizational meeting Sept. 29, where commissioners-elect Paul Bauer, Elisabeth Gibbings and David Jasinski were sworn in for their two-year terms.

Stevens, a resident commissioner, was first elected in 2020 and was subsequently elected mayor by his fellow commissioners in 2021 and 2022. As mayor, Stevens is an ex officio member of all town committees.

The 2023 municipal election was canceled when only the incumbents had filed to run by the deadline.

Bauer was first elected in 2017, and has served ever since. He was elected to a sixth one-year term as council secretary at the organizational meeting. Bauer is liaison to the budget and finance committee and marketing committee, and is a member of the Dewey Beach Lions Club and Delaware Sports Commission.

Gibbings now begins her second two-year term. A clinical psychologist, she has served as president and in other elected positions for the Delaware Psychological Association, and with the American Psychological Association as a member of the Council of Representatives.

Jasinski filed for his first full term in 2021 after filling the remaining term of former Mayor TJ Redefer, who died in April 2020. He also served as a commissioner in 2014-15. Now liaison to the infrastructure committee, Jasinski previously served on the budget and finance committee, and the planning and zoning commission.

An election has not been held in Dewey Beach since 2020, as incumbents have been unopposed. 

Council’s next meeting is set for 3 p.m., Friday, Oct. 20, at the Lifesaving Station. Go to for more information.

Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter