Delaware Farm Bureau elects Wilkins president for second term

January 12, 2021

Delegates and Delaware Farm Bureau leadership held their annual meeting Dec. 1 using a virtual format.

A quorum was successfully presented and maintained during the meeting, allowing the group to vote on important decisions such as next year's leadership. President Richard Wilkins, Vice President Laura Hill and Second Vice President Bill Powers were all voted in for additional terms of service.

"I think it's important to note that we are continuing to operate. We've never closed down," Hill said.

Several members of the board of directors were present for a run-through of the virtual meeting a week before the actual event took place. Hill said, "I felt very good about how it went. I felt like the staff did a wonderful job by having the practice session the week before for some of us. It seemed like once we were online, it went very smoothly. If there was an issue, the staff was able to help out, and the office was open for anyone who didn't feel comfortable with the technology.”

Awards were announced, recognizing Crow Insurance and Carey Insurance companies for their work with farm bureau members.

Retiring board members honored for their service were Paul Cartanza of Kent County and Herb Wright of Sussex County. Teddy Bobola, retired Young Farmers and Ranchers chair, was also honored for his service.

The meeting included presentations from Nationwide and American Farm Bureau Federation Chief Economist Dr. John Newton, and Managing Director of Public Policy Ryan Yates. No new resolutions were brought forth for the group to consider this year.

To reach the Delaware Farm Bureau, call 302-697-3183 or go to

Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter