ESLC lacrosse practices at DE Turf looking toward a summer season

June 26, 2020

Phases of the pandemic as they relate to changes in sports tournament participation require parents and players to be light on their feet as everyone tries to get game after being shut down for three months. 

The Eastern Shore Lacrosse Club 2025 and 2026/27 teams practiced at DE Turf June 22 on the far south field. All the other fields were empty, since nobody knew where the rest of the club sports teams that play outside at DE Turf in the summer were practicing, if at all. 

There is talk of four-team tournaments beginning as soon as this weekend, then rejoining a summer schedule by mid-July. 

Big tournaments cost big money to enter, and the host site needs those funds to run quality tournaments. This is the zone where capitalism meets competition – you have to pay to play or stay home and play in a virtual tournament. 

ESLC fields six teams slugged by year of high school graduation. The oldest players are 2021, followed by 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025 and 2026/27. 

There are multiple schools represented on the rosters of the six age groups, including Sussex Tech, Cape Henlopen, Indian River, Middletown, Polytech, Caesar Rodney, Sussex Academy, Dover, Smyrna, Stephen Decatur, Ursuline, The Hill School, Garrison Forest and Worcester Prep. 

The 2021 team is coached by Leigh Rupar and Kim Walker, and includes Abby Baird, Ally Best, Karla Castillo, Hailey Craig, Emma Fisher, Claire Fuchs, Riley Keen, Regan Kenney, Katie Knarr, Emily Kravalis, Destiney Kusen, Jocelyn Leach, Drew Szlasa, Emily Monigle, Lindsay Rambo, Addy Leonhartt, Regan Torbert and Victoria Ziethen.

The 2022 squad is coached by Caroline Judge and John Risko. That team includes Ellie Anderson, Maren Buckaloo, Sloane Buckaloo, Superia Clark, Jenna Davis, Kyleigh Dill, Laci Dixon, Saige Figgs, Madison Fillo, Lauryn Head, Chloe Jones, Josie Martin, Molly Mendez, Katharine Moore, Payton Nowakowski, Ella Risko and Elizabeth Szell.   

Stephanie Seibert and Cailey Thornburg coach the 2023 team, which includes Jessica Beck, Zoe Brafman, Anne Carter, Rina Dirickson, Sanne Elling, Abigail Fisher, Allison Head, Elise Hensley, Linley Hill, Sydney Milan, Sarah Narr, Julia Rial, Mia Schultz, Cheyenne Scott, Megan Smith, Jacqueline Thomas and Lexi Truitt.

Lyn Shoop and Andy Nowakowski coach the 2024 squad. That group includes Hannah Abel, Addy Basile, Olivia Burkentine, Carrie Clausius, Lindsay D’Ambrogi, Landon Diehl, Samantha Ghabra, Montana Jones, Sienna Kempster, Molly Kenney, Brianna Loper, Anna Lopez, Ashling Marshall, Alexa Nowakowski, Natalie Pfaff, Louise Rishko, Ella Ruppert, Lainey Shockro, Ashtyn Torbert and Grace Wiggins.

Lindsey Eichner and Jack Frederick coach the 2025 team. It includes Emily Bisaha, Lina Frederick, Korie Glenn, Hailey Hauf, Hadley Lewicki, Sophia Massaro, Bailey Masten, Melanie McKean, Savannah Montgomery, Erin Morgan, Amelia Payus, Ella Price, Skylar Steigerwalt and Hannah Zimmerman. 

Gina Voss and Anna Frederick coach the 2026/27 squad. The team includes Regan Best, Lily Bisaha, Hudson Brockstedt, Allaire Burton, Shea Danahy, Ally Diehl, Haley Gamuciello, Lelia Hughes, Claire Lopez, Madison Mark, Avary Miller, Mairead Rishko, Ava Ruggiero, Atia Sabbagh, Emily Wells, Cara Willis and Maya Yngve.  

Harlan Eagle is the founder and executive director of the Eastern Shore Lacrosse Club. P.J. Kesmodel is a founder and director of coaching emeritus. Dave Frederick – not the writer of this article – is the director of coaching and recruitment.     


Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter