Hocker, Cloutier chosen to lead Senate Republican Caucus

November 8, 2018

Sen. Gerald Hocker, R-Ocean View, was unanimously selected Nov. 7 as the new Senate Minority Leader.

Hocker was first elected to the Senate in 2012 following 10 years in the House of Representatives, and previously served as House Minority Whip.

“I am very thankful for the opportunity to lead the caucus as we head into the 150th General Assembly,” Hocker said in a press release. “There is a lot of work to be done to improve our economy, our education system and to help improve the quality of life for Delawareans. I look forward to the challenges and opportunities ahead.”

Senate Republicans also unanimously chose Sen. Cathy Cloutier, R-Heatherbrooke, as the new Senate Minority Whip. Cloutier served one term in the House and was elected to the Senate in 2000. She served for many years as a member of the Joint Finance Committee.

Outgoing Senate Minority Leader Gary Simpson, R-Milford, praised the selections.

“I am leaving the caucus in excellent hands,” said Simpson. “Sen. Hocker has been a strong voice in our caucus for years, and he is the right person to lead us forward. And Sen. Cloutier is the perfect balance to Gerald’s leadership, and is highly regarded by her colleagues in the caucus. The future is bright.”

On the Democratic side, Senate Democrats nominated Sen. Dave McBride, D-Hawk’s Nest, to continue serving as President Pro Tempore of the 150th General Assembly. He will be formally elected when the session begins Jan. 8, 2019.

Senate Democrats also elected Sen. Nicole Poore, D-New Castle, as Majority Leader. Poore succeeds Sen. Margaret Rose Henry, who retired this year. Sen. Bryan Townsend, D-Newark, was elected Majority Whip.