Public Service Recognition Week runs through May 8

May 5, 2021

Gov. John Carney signed a proclamation recognizing May 2-8, 2021, as Public Service Recognition Week.

Carney, cabinet members, and the business community have celebrated Delaware’s public servants throughout the week in videos highlighting the extraordinary work of state employees.

“It is an honor to have the opportunity to work with our dedicated and hardworking state employees,” said Carney. “Our public servants persevered through the challenges of this past year, and they continue to go above and beyond to serve the citizens of Delaware.”

The Department of Human Resources traditionally hosts an in-person annual recognition event during Public Service Recognition Week. This year, in a series of videos, the state honored individuals and teams of state employees across the workforce who exemplified excellence and commitment to public service in the last year – including employees who identified innovative new ways to deliver state services, and those who demonstrated acts of heroism and courage. 

The Delaware Award for Excellence and Commitment in State Service is presented to five State of Delaware employees, or groups of up to five employees, who exemplify the highest standards of excellence and commitment in state service. In addition, the GEAR P3 Trailblazer Award provides special recognition for individuals and small groups whose accomplishments demonstrate leadership in application of continuous improvement best practices.

Recipients of the 2020 excellence award are: Charles Harris, Department of Health and Social Services; Anne Hiller Clark, Division of Libraries; Stacey Purnell, Department of Health and Social Services; Wayne Smiley, Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families; and Dawn Stevens, Department of Correction.

GEAR P3 Trailblazer Award recipients are: Brent Johnson, Department of Finance; Kalee Nelson, Department of Technology and Information; and Michael O’Malley and Jonathan Rutledge, Department of Homeland Security.

The Governor’s Team Excellence Awards category includes the GEAR P3 Innovation & Efficiency Award, Champions Award and Commitment Award. Presented annually to a team of six to 20 state employees, the Governor’s Team Excellence Awards encourage teamwork by recognizing groups of state employees for their efforts to use continuous quality-improvement tools to excel in leadership, team dynamics and communication to produce superior customer service and tangible results.

The GEAR P3 Innovation & Efficiency Award is a cooperative initiative between the State of Delaware and the business community. This public-private partnership honors teams that not only use quality-improvement tools to achieve outstanding outcomes but also develop innovative designs and processes, establish best practices, and produce verifiable results that are sustainable, scalable, and adaptable to other areas of government. These teams serve as clear role models for other organizations. The recipients of this year’s award are: Judicial Information Center COVID Response Team, Administrative Office of the Courts; and Government Support Services Central Contracting Team, Office of Management and Budget.

The Champions Award recognizes teams that demonstrated a superior knowledge of continuous quality-improvement techniques, produced tangible results, and increased efficiencies, customer satisfaction, or cost savings. Recipients of this year’s award are: Special Events Team, Department of Transportation; Technology Response to COVID-19 Pandemic Team, Department of Technology and Information; and Telework Support Team, Department of Health and Social Services.

The Commitment Award recognizes teams that demonstrate a commitment to developing and applying quality-improvement tools and techniques, and achieving results that lead to continuous improvement in their organization. The recipients of this year’s award are: Bridge Maintenance Team, Department of Transportation; DMV Online Appointment Scheduler Team, Department of Transportation and Department of Technology and Information; and Division of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities Neuro-Behavioral Health Team, Department of Health and Social Services.

The GEAR P3 Trailblazer Award and the GEAR P3 Innovation and Efficiency Award were made possible through the support of the Government Efficiency and Accountability Review Board and a public-private partnership between the State of Delaware and the Delaware business community. Private-sector contributors of the awards include Bank of America, Capital One, Corporation Service Company, Delmarva Power, Highmark Blue Cross Blue Shield, JP Morgan Chase Bank, M&T Bank, the Precisionists Inc. and WSFS Bank.

The Delaware Award for Heroism, established in 2013, recognizes state employees for acts of heroism and courage. The 2020 recipients are: Keytwan Brooks, Justin Sauble, Robert Stevens, and Stewart Megee, all of the Department of Transportation; and Fred Beach, Steven Beck, Walter Bruhl, William Fintak, Jennifer Gabriele, and Ronald “Skip” LeMieux, with volunteer “Chief” Larry Keller, Department of State.

For detailed information about the award recipients, go to

Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter