Sussex first-responders, healthcare professionals honored

Annual EMS banquet recognizes action taken during 2017
May 11, 2018

Sussex County first-responders and healthcare professionals were honored April 7 during the annual Sussex County Emergency Services banquet hosted by the Blades Fire Company.

The annual banquet, sponsored by the Sussex County Paramedic Association, Sussex County Volunteer Ambulance Association and Sussex County EMS, is held each year to celebrate the emergency medical service and medical community and recognize peers for their life-saving efforts in the previous year.

The following awards were presented:

Stephanie Callaway scholarships, presented by the Sussex County Paramedic Association:

High school recipient: Collin Donaway, future Delaware Technical Community College paramedic student.

Sussex County resident adult recipient: Brandon Givens, Chesapeake College paramedic student.

Excellence awards, presented by Sussex County EMS: EMS Nurse: Kendyl Davidson, Beebe Healthcare, Lewes; EMS Physician of the Year: Dr. Mackenzie Hay, Nanticoke Memorial Hospital, Seaford.

Emergency Communications Specialist of the Year: Dave Perrine, Sussex County Emergency Operations Center.

EMT of the Year (East District): Russell White, Rehoboth Beach Volunteer Fire Company; EMT of the Year (West District): Matt Heck, Georgetown EMS/American Legion Post 8.

Administrative Excellence: Rob Mauch, Sussex County EMS; Field Training Officer of the Year: Wayne Jester, Sussex County EMS; District Supervisor of the Year: Russell Hooper, Sussex County EMS.

Paramedic of the Year: Chaz Tennermann, Sussex County EMS.

Recognition awards, presented by Sussex County Volunteer Ambulance Association:

Cliff Lee Award: Vicki Mast, Bridgeville Volunteer Fire Company.

EMT of the Year: Larry Whaley, Seaford Volunteer Fire Department.

Sussex County Volunteer Ambulance Association Paramedic of the Year: Greg Bell, Sussex County EMS.

EMS Supervisor of the Year: John Watson, Millville Volunteer Fire Company.

Nurse of the Year: Dawn Ryan, Nanticoke Memorial Hospital.

Police Officer Appreciation Award: Frankie Bradley, Seaford Police.

Sussex County EMS Director's Caring People Award: The following awards were handed out after a review of a call in Ocean View where first-responders successfully resuscitated a 42-year-old woman who was suffering from cardiac arrest. The patient has since gone on to a full recovery. Dispatcher: Ryan Fletcher, Sussex County EOC; EMTs: Keith Baker and Wally Evans, Millville Volunteer Fire Company; paramedics: Jordan Dattoli and Amanda McCloskey, Sussex County EMS.