Vehicles shine at CHEER’s 8th annual show

August 22, 2018

The Eighth Annual CHEER Car, Truck and Bike Show was very well attended Aug. 11 after being postponed the week before due to forecast bad weather. Almost 80 cars registered for the event and were displayed in the parking lot of CHEER’s Community Center at the corner of Sand Hill Road and Route 9 east of Georgetown. A champagne brunch was enjoyed by participants and the visiting public.

Best in Show was a 1947 Ford Coupe owned by John Scheetz of Milford. 

The Sussex County Council Best in Show Award recipient was a 1956 Ford Crown Victoria owned by Larry Merrick of Bridgeville.

The Fred Whitmer Memorial Award, sponsored by Delmar Crown Trophy, is given to the person who works for the success of CHEER’s car show and for the popularity of vintage vehicles. This year’s recipient was Florence Mason of Georgetown, co-chair of CHEER’s car show for its entire eight years.

This year’s show theme was Saluting Car Clubs of America. County Seat Cruisers won the award for the club with the most participants. The trophy was sponsored by Kent-Sussex Industries.

Best Vintage Car, sponsored by Meineke Car Care, Lewes, was a 1966 Mustang Fastback owned by Fred Wimbrow of Seaford.

Best Vintage Truck, sponsored by Co-Chair Walt Koopman, was a 1954 Chevy Pickup owned by Jim Daimus of Clayton.

Best Vintage Bike, sponsored by the Car Show Committee, was a 1953 Whizzer Motorized Bike owned by Tony Sawyers of Hurlock, Md.

Farthest Traveled Participant, sponsored by Club D’Jet, USA, was Robert Katz of Philadelphia, who displayed a 1936 Hotchkiss.

Oldest Vehicle, sponsored by Korean War Veterans Chapter 1, was a 1902 Oldsmobile Model Runabout owned by John Masters of Millsboro.

Best Import, sponsored by Cracker Barrel Country Store, Rehoboth Beach, was a 1974 Jaguar XK V12 Roadster owned by Wanda and Charles Frezza of Millsboro.

Best Original Car was a 1963 Nova SS owned by Don Shaner of Millsboro.

Best Original Import went to a 1987 Mercedes 560 Roadster owned by Tom Mahler, Millsboro.

Special Interest Vehicle was a 2013 Camaro, owned by Tina Challis, Felton.

Best Custom Bike went to a 1997 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Springer owned by Wrench Asmussen, Lewes.

Honorable Mention plaques went to: 1967 Shelby GT 350, owned by Guy Walker, Millsboro; 1950 Willys Jeepster, owned by Barbara Mudryk, Lewes; 1981 Chevy El Camino Truck, owned by John and Sandi Bartsch, Dover; 1950 Mercury, owned by Joseph Guerra, Millsboro; and 2006 Chevy Silverado Pickup, owned by Don Fair, Harbeson.

Winner of the battery-operated replica of an original Jeep Big Foot monster truck was Walter Wilson of Georgetown.



Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter