Hockey 4 Haxton Tourney 2021

December 21, 2021

Story Location:
1250 Kings Hwy
Champions Stadium
Lewes, DE 19958
United States

December 21, 2021



Thank you to all who worked to make a successful day in memory of Amanda Haxton at the H4H indoor tourney raising funds for the H4H scholarships and for the Easter Seals Rehab Center in Georgetown, DE on Saturday, December 18, 2021, on the turf at Cape Henlopen High School’s Champions Stadium. Thank you to all the teams (12) and individuals (approximately 140) that expended their energy playing the game- from upstate to downstate and beyond. A special thank you to our volunteer umpires who gave their time to make sure the games were played safely: Peyton Moore, Sommer Dorman, Sam Swift Mycah Smith, Hailey Moore, Beth Conaway, Jessica Rybicki, Stacie Spicer, and Ike Eisenhour. And thanks to the volunteers who manned registration (Stephanie Brown), the score clock (Megan and Dan Smith), music mixers (Tim Moore), and photographer: Dan Smith, and all the others that donated their time for the success of this day. A special thanks to Sydney Ostroski and Alexa Hendrickson and the parent players for coming out and working with some of the younger teams during the day. Apologies to any I have missed in the above list.

Special thanks to our sponsors: Arenas Café in Lewes, Dorman Custom Apparel in Milton, Russ Palmer Builders in Lewes, County Bank in Rehoboth Beach, Johnson Orthodontics in Rehoboth Beach, John’s Well Drilling in Smyrna, Morris James LLP in Georgetown, The Stancofski Family in Lewes, Hazzard Auto Parts in Rehoboth Beach, and George & Lynch, Inc., in Delaware. Thanks to all those making anonymous donations throughout the day.
Special recognition goes to Stephanie Brown, chairperson of H4H, who did a great job of planning for this 16thannual event. Stephanie also was instrumental in the huge number of raffle items that were available for this year: My P’s Pizza in Lewes, Dairy Queen on Lewes Beach, Jungle Jim’s Water Park outside of Rehoboth Beach, Vernon Powell Shoes in Rehoboth Beach, Eric Gooch Photos of Milton, Orvis Outlet for Famous Footwear and Kim Loomis of Rehoboth Beach, Arena’s in Rehoboth Beach, Midway Speedway/White Mountain Water Park and Fire Mountain Rescue Golf in Midway, and Amanda Wills with LuLaRoe Leggings of Rehoboth Beach. That was a record setting list for H4H 2021.

Thank you to Cape Henlopen School District and Cheyanne Riveria for getting the Champions Turf Field up and running days before the tourney was to take place. Thanks to Bernie Bowden and his crew for making sure the stadium of clean and playable!
You all are so special and have the Haxton spirit.

Congratulations to the Class of 2022 H4H scholarship winners: Liv Muir of Milford High School. Liv will be attending Lynchburg University, and will be part of their field hockey program. Liv has been a member of Delaware Shore since 2016. In addition to Liv receiving the H4H scholarship and special group of athletes from the class of 2022 were also awarded scholarships through the Above, Beyond, Club and Community program, they were: Emma Westbrook (Newberry College) who is a student at SAS, Emma Moore who attends Lake Forest High School and Sommer Dorman who is a student at Cape Henlopen HS. All athletes have been active as members of teams traveling to Pennsylvania, Virginia, and Florida for different events, winning championships with those team, teaching and coaching in different Delaware Shore program and becoming big sisters to the next generation of Delaware Shore athletes.




Ike Eisenhour

Executive Director, Delaware Shore Field Hockey


A recap of the previous winners:

2008- Kara Voss (RN at Beebe) and Chelsea Reed (Beebe School of Nursing and now Beebe Cath Lab)

2009- Sara Kolobielski (MBA and business manager at Bad Hair Day?))

2010- Caroline Judge (Marketing Director SoDel Concepts) and Tori Cox (Sales Rep at LC Homes)

2011- Taylor Trimmer (Asics Sporting Goods Corporation and Christine Bristowe (Dogfish Chemist)

2012- Sarah More (Senior Technical Editor at Synchrogenix)

2013- Karissa LeMaire (Enterprise Car Rentals) and Ryan Taylor (Project Mgr. at Yale Electrical)

2014-Tina Gooding (Personal Trainer) and Alyssa More (Partnerships @FreeWill)

2015- Lexi Gooch (teacher CHSD), Katie Fuhr (RN), and Sydney Ostroski (teacher CHSD and coach)

2016- Alexa Rhodunda (DeSales University- nursing ed)

2017- Lizzie Soucy (PSU)

2018- Lacy Bayley (SRU and De Shore coach)

2019- Marlee Geppert (Queens University GK) and Abby Kane (Belmont Abbey College) as the Above and Beyond Community Scholarship award

2020- Riley Klopp (F&M College) and Maggie Dawson (University of Tennessee)




Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter