DE Turf honors Kent County Levy Court president

February 14, 2019

DE Turf Chairman of the Board of Directors William Strickland and Executive Director Chris Giacomucci unveiled the Wall of Fame, a new recognition program at the complex Jan. 29.

Each year the complex will honor a champion for the facility who has exemplified dedication, passion and commitment to its success. Honorees will have their names displayed on jerseys along with the year of selection. The jerseys will be displayed prominently at the facility.

The first year’s recipient is Commissioner P. Brooks Banta, president of Kent County Levy Court. Banta, a former Dewey Beach commissioner, played an integral role in the development of the facility, securing the land lease between the facility and the county as well as supporting the continued progress for the south Frederica overpass.

DE Turf recently completed its first full year of operations, which brought more than 102,000 visitors to Kent County and generated nearly 14,000 hotel room nights to Delaware’s economy.