Blue-Gold and all related activities are canceled

April 16, 2020

The 65th Annual DFRC Blue-Gold All-Star Football game and all related activities have been canceled. 

The DFRC Blue-Gold All-Star Football Game showcases some of Delaware’s finest Hand-in-Hand buddies and high school students who participate as football players, cheerleaders, band members and school ambassadors.

“DFRC is proud of all our buddies and participants, and commends each one for the honor of being selected to be a part of this honored Delaware tradition,” said Jada Little, director of operations. “As a token of our appreciation, we have ordered jerseys for all the football players and shirts for each buddy, ambassador, cheerleader and band member. These items will be distributed as soon as we receive them and the stay-at-home restrictions are lifted. Even though we will not be playing the game this year, we want to acknowledge the rosters for our Blue and Gold football players and cheerleaders.”

DFRC had planned this year’s game to be the Blue-Gold Battle of the Blum Brothers, with Zeb Blum of A.I. duPont High School chosen as head coach for the Blue team, and brother Zach Blum of Middletown High School selected to lead the Gold team, facing off against each other. Both men have agreed to be back in those roles for the 2021 game. The Blue and Gold squads consist of senior players chosen from across Delaware as students of outstanding character who are also exceptional football players.

Also returning for next year are head cheerleading coaches Heather Blake of Conrad Schools of Science for the Blue squad and Middletown High School’s Katy Hoffecker for the Gold squad. The Blue and Gold squads include extraordinary senior cheerleaders selected to represent their schools.  

The first DFRC Blue-Gold Game was played Aug. 25, 1956. Today, nearly 50 public, private, parochial, vo-tech and charter schools across the entire state are invited to participate, helping to spread DFRC’s message of diversity, acceptance and ABILITIES throughout their schools and communities.

“We want to thank everyone for your understanding and support as we continue to navigate through the difficulties of the current worldwide situation,” Little said. “Please stay safe and follow all CDC guidelines.”

For more information, call 302-454-2730 or email Information is also available at

Blue roster

Manny Adebi, Wilmington Friends

Brycen Anderson, Tatnall

Alex Aviles, Newark

Ja’Quai Bishop, A.I. duPont

Chris Boc, Delaware Military

Audrick Brown, William Penn

Isaiah Brown, Tower Hill

Donald Burton, Newark

James Collins, Mount Pleasant

Jeremyah Combs-Washington, Howard

Dylan Craig, Charter Wilmington

Matt DiGregorio, Archmere

Caden Dineen, Conrad

Austin Edmonds, Delaware Military

Tashan Fitzgerald, Hodgson

Cory Floyd, Brandywine

Ryan Gui Dibo, Christiana

Ryan Haines, Salesianum

Darius Hale, Hodgson

Jakob Hoffman, Caravel

Jacob Jaworski, Wilmington Friends

Aaron Lewis, Thomas McKean

Elizjah Lewis, Hodgson

Jermaine Lugo, Howard

Kareem McCoy, Delcastle Technical

Naz’aire Miller, A.I. duPont

Amir Mitchell-Marvel, Hodgson

Robert Moran, Glasgow

Patrick Palm, St. Mark’s

Gavin Pié, Concord

Colin Richmond, John Dickinson

Blaec Sanders, St. Mark’s

Luke Schiavoni, St. Elizabeth

Luke Schneese, Salesianum

Eric Shimko, Hodgson

Andrew Watkins, Salesianum

Armando White-Moran, A. I. DuPont

Gold roster

Jalen Adger-Thomas, First State Military

Ezekiel Brister, Appoquinimink

Johnny Cetoute, Seaford

Zach Covington, Delmar

Kevin Custis, Sussex Tech

Andrew DeBenedictis-Bayne, Smyrna

Te’Kwon Dennard, Delmar

Anthony Diaz, Milford

Chris Elliott, Delmar

JaQuan Floyd, Indian River

Isaiah Griffin, Middletown

Blake Harbert, Middletown

Felix Harmon, Cape Henlopen

Jordan Harper, Sussex Tech

Trey Haynes, Woodbridge

Jalen Hill, Dover

Timothy Holly, Red Lion Christian

Makhi Jackson, Smyrna

Ricky Kane, Woodbridge

Emmanuel Kennedy, Caesar Rodney

Anthony Mason, St. Georges

Matthew Obiagu, Caesar Rodney

Josh Parson, Appoquinimink

Javon Peace, Dover

Anthony Pepper, Middletown

Dalton Perdue, Woodbridge

William Perkins, Sussex Central

Donald Rawley, Polytech

Bricen Sanders, Laurel

Domonique Smith, Sussex Central

LaTerrian Spruill, Middletown

Kristopher Thompson, Lake Forest

Terrance Trapp, St. Georges

Hayden Vidrine, Dover

Darryl Williams, Smyrna

Masen Wilson, Smyrna

Jaheim Wing, Middletown

Blue cheerleaders

Emoni Brown, Howard

Alexis Caesar, Hodgson

Ny’Jeria Carter, A.I. duPont

Antoinette Collazo, Conrad

Lauren Davis, Mount Pleasant

Edaesia Fleming, Conrad

Kayla Kelsey, Thomas McKean

Alexandrea Kuratle, Delaware Military

Keyana Lang, Mount Pleasant

Sophia Liston, Archmere

Hayley Miller, Thomas McKean

Alexa Nowocin, Conrad

Nicole Outten, Delaware Military

Sarah Ragan, Cab Calloway

Chania Rice, Thomas McKean

Alissa Sutton, Conrad

Angelini Valencia, St. Mark’s

Anya Vann, Thomas McKean

Patrice Watson, Mount Pleasant

Faith Williams-Jett, Hodgson

Alexandra Williamson, Archmere

Gold cheerleaders

Delaney Caguin, Middletown

Rebecca Gibson, Smyrna

Alayzia Johnson, Laurel

Caitlyn Jones, Dover

Kassidy Jones, Dover

Skylar Luc, Appoquinimink

Kaila McCabe, Indian River

Ta’Lia Nunn, Smyrna

Taylea O’Connor, Middletown

Cheyenne Pfeiffer, Dover

Brianna Pickle, Lake Forest

Wrenn Springer, Sussex Tech

Alisiya Stephens, Smyrna

Laura Stremmel, Cape Henlopen

Olivia Thomas, St. Georges Tech

Cameron Veazey, Sussex Tech

Airyanah Watson, Middletown

Marlee White, Indian River

Lily Wiley, Milford

Indya Wright, Woodbridge

Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter