Community foundation awards $300K in scholarships

July 27, 2020

The Delaware Community Foundation awarded $306,800 in scholarships for the 2020-21 school year, helping 165 students throughout the state pursue secondary education.

Each year, the foundation awards scholarships to students from funds established by generous people who care about education and understand that it can be costly. This year, 165 new and renewed scholarships from more than 50 different funds were awarded to these students.

There is no cap on the number of scholarships or the amount students may receive. Funding from many of the scholarships may be applied to the costs of textbooks and fees, in addition to tuition. Some are one-time awards, and others are renewable.

“Many of our donors who care about education choose to create scholarship funds to build opportunities for students where they otherwise may not exist,” said Stuart Comstock-Gay, DCF president and CEO. “Our goal is to help philanthropists who care about education support young people working toward building successful futures.”

Sussex County winners and their schools include Teala Avery, Norwich; Emily Barrish, Sussex Academy; Maddie Betts, Cape Henlopen; Sophie Czerwinski, Sussex Tech; Taylor Dade, Cape Henlopen; Arya Das, Delmar; Allison Dayton, Sussex Academy; Nicholas Finneran, Indian River; Marlee Geppert, Cape Henlopen; Morgan Gray, Indian River; Kaylee Hall, Indian River; Clara-Rosa Hertzog, Cape Henlopen; Lauren Holladay, Laurel; Madison Johnson, Indian River; John Lee, Cape Henlopen; Christopher Lombardi, Sussex Central; Desirea Martin, Cape Henlopen; Roberto Mazzello, Sussex Central; Tessa McDonough, Sussex Central; Kaila McCabe, Indian River; Kyle Morris, Sussex Tech; Jaasiel Nunez, Sussex Tech; Bethany Pasmore, Sussex Tech; Rimmon Shoukat, Woodbridge; Ethan Simon, Cape Henlopen; Abigail West, Indian River; Melissa Woody, Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing; and Andrew Workman, Delmarva Christian Academy.

Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter