Farmers may apply for emergency loans through Oct. 21

March 9, 2019

U.S. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue has designated all three Delaware counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Kent, New Castle and Sussex counties who suffered losses caused by the combined effects of excessive rainfall, flooding, and Hurricanes Florence and Michael that occurred June 14 through Nov. 29, 2018, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency emergency loans.

This natural disaster area designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or refinance of certain debts.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Monday, Oct. 21.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. For more information, go to