Legislative wrap-up 1/11/19

January 11, 2019

House committees assigned for 150th

This year's House committee assignments feature 14 new committee chairs, five of them first-timers.

“We have new members making up nearly one-third of our chamber, which is both exciting and challenging at the same time,” said Speaker of the House Pete Schwartzkopf, D-Rehoboth. “On one hand, we lost a lot of veteran legislators who reliably chaired several important committees. But on the other hand, we have new members with a lot of energy and different talents they bring to the table.”

Schwartzkopf is serving on the House Rules, House Administration and Ethics committees, all chaired by Rep. Valerie Longhurst, D-Bear.

Rep. Ruth Briggs King, R-Georgetown, will serve on the Joint Finance, Appropriations, Education, Manufactured Housing, Veterans Affairs, Health and Human Development, and Public Safety and Homeland Security committees.

Rep. Steve Smyk, R-Milton, will serve on the Energy, Corrections, Judiciary, Labor, Veterans Affairs, and Public Safety and Homeland Security committees.

Senate continues with consolidated committees

The state Senate assigned members to its 17 committees on Jan. 8, and approved rules for the 150th session.

Committees were consolidated last session from 23, and Senate President Pro Tempore David McBride, D-Hawk's Nest, said he was pleased that it will continue.

“Consolidating committees and creating a structured committee meeting schedule improved committee attendance tremendously for senators, stakeholders, and our guests from the public. I’m also proud to say that virtually all legislation in the Senate received committee hearings without undue delay, excepting extenuating circumstances like sponsor requests or companion legislation,” he said.

Sen. Ernie Lopez, R-Lewes, will serve on the Sunset, Education, and Health and Social Services committees; Sen. Brian Pettyjohn, R-Georgetown, will serve on Banking, Business and Insurance, Capital Improvement, Corrections and Public Safety, and Health and Social Services committees; Sen. Dave Wilson, R-Bridgeville, will serve on Agriculture, Environmental and Natural Resources, and Veterans Affairs; Sen. Gerald Hocker, R-Ocean View, will serve on Environmental and Natural Resources, Legislative Council, Executive, Rules and Ethics, and Corrections and Public Safety; and Sen.
Bryant Richardson, R-Seaford, will serve on Agriculture, Elections, Government and Community Affairs, and Veterans Affairs.


Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter