Mayor Otis Smith celebrates Lewes’ 325th anniversary

May 10, 2022

For the first time in many years, Lewes will have a mayoral election Saturday, May 14. Over the last 70-plus years, the First Town has had only a handful of mayors. Before current Mayor Ted Becker, there was Jim Ford (2004-14), George H.P. Smith (1994-2004), John Adams (1992-94), Al Stango (1968-92) and Otis Smith (1950-68). As many people know, Otis Smith was the owner of the menhaden fish-processing plants in Lewes. In this 1956 photograph, Mayor Otis Smith is joined by Gov. J. Caleb Boggs, Lt. Gov. John Rollins and G. Edward Wyatt at Lewes’ 325th anniversary celebration. After serving as governor from 1953-60, Boggs served as a U.S. Senator from 1961-73. Rollins, a businessman with Lewes connections, made a bid for governor in 1960, but lost a close race to Democrat Elbert Carvel. In just nine short years, Lewes will be celebrating its 300th anniversary. 



  • Delaware Cape Region History in Photographs, published every Tuesday in the Cape Gazette, features historical photos from Delaware's Cape Region - particularly - and from throughout Sussex County and Delaware generally.

    Readers are invited to submit photos of historic interest. They can be mailed to the Cape Gazette at PO Box 213, Lewes, DE 19958, or via email to

Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter