Seashore Striders Summer Racing Series wraps up 29th year

August 9, 2019

The 2019 Seashore Strider Summer Racing Series concluded Aug. 3 at the Run for the Paws 5K in Dewey Beach. Several runners needed that final 5K to qualify for awards while others sought to discard a poor placing result from earlier in the summer. Most of the rankings remained the same in the final week, but there were some surprises within the 16 age groups for both male and female. Here is a look at the results of the 29th championship series.


Female - Winner Erin Noonan

Male - Winner Landon Bratz, followed by Robbie Myers


Female - Winner Faith Mitchell, followed by Lily Noonan and Maya Yngve

Male - Winner Bennett Brumbley, followed by Brent Dieterle


Female - Winner Olivia Montini, followed by Sadie Tunnell 

Male - Winner Caleb Bradley, followed by DJ Farren, Aydan Vanderwende and Blake Huffman


Female - Winner Keren Rams

Male - Winner Reginaldo Hernandez


Female - No qualifiers 

Male - Winner Steve Eshelman


Female - Winner Kelly Tingle, followed by Elizabeth Gerritt, Casey Huffman and Cindi Dieterle 

Male - Winner Francisco Puac, followed by Michael Marciano and Beau Croll


Female - Winner Abby Andrews, followed by Eugenija King 

Male - Winner Martin Rodriguez, followed by Justin Welsh, Jeff Evans and Greg Baran


Female - Winner Susan Dunn, followed by Heather Marvin, Amanda Alexander, Alison Myers, Karen Eller, Caroline Fitzpatrick, Amy Kuhlman and Jennifer Murray 

Male - Winner Jason Langley, followed by John Blackford, Eric Smith and David Balash


Female - Winner Becky Montini, followed by Jen Perry, Molly Sewell, Carla Yngve, Linda Stanley, Renee Lewandowski, Alyssa Simon and Roxy Castillo 

Male - Winner Mike Sewell, followed by Bill Pilkington, Breck Vanderwende, Bryan Bowles, J.R. Ward and Joel Simon


Female - Winner Mardiny Ung, followed by Jackie Quigley, Sheila Young, Christina Richter, Elizabeth Morton, Linda Schwartz-Chi, Marygrace Pesce, Melissa Mulligan, Robin Clark and Laurie Yanacek

Male - Winner Paul Montini, followed by Chris Stanley, John Yanacek, David Pulcinella, Stephen Joyce and Chris Sinclair


Female - Winner Nina Smeltzer, followed by Margaret Colvin, Karen Johnston, Amy Keating, Cindy Dominik, Karen Neitzey, Marian Dowling and LeeAnn Waltz

Male - Winner Bill Holdsworth, followed by Tim Young, Peter Tracey, David Landis, John Dowling, David Farren, Carl Kylen and Peter Chiarelli


Female - Winner Joy Biser, followed by Connie Marshall, Cathy Haut, Jill Extract, Jackie Rams Martin, Deborah Rementer, Teri Moore and Louise Holt

Male - Winner Brian Johnston, followed by Chris Moosey, Alan Quillen, Robert Fitzgerald, Donald Cowie, Dan Sypinski, Richard Tikiob, Kirk Alderdice and Mark Pinkus


Female - Winner Dianna Golden, followed by Linda Ridenour, Pepperr Liner, Laura Buckland and Nancy Brooks 

Male - Winner Rick Poppleton, followed by Paul Gitlin, Jack Vassalotti, Jim Marvin, Russ Melrath and Bill Brooks 


Female - Winner JoAnn Szczepkowski, followed by Eileen Wimsatt and Marie Kuhlman

Male - Winner Jules Woodall, followed by Tim Abbott, Woody Disharoon, Brian Logan, Ron Niblett, Terry Griche, Mike Richardson, Willard Phillips, Don Zalenski and Leo Hennigan


Female - Winner Sherri Wright, followed by Sandra Gossman 

Male - Winner Jim Batts, followed by William McArthur, Paul Kiefer and Dennis Williams


Female - Winner Jamie Wollard, followed by Marge Warshauer and Stella Castillo

Male - Winner Jack Huxtable, followed by Jack Noel, John Neal and Alberto Castillo.

A Perfect Score

A total of 14 runners scored a perfect six points after finishing first in their age group in five 5K races and one five-mile race this summer. Congratulations to the following 14 runners:  


Faith Mitchell (10-13), Susan Dunn (40-44), Becky Montini (45-49), Nina Smeltzer (55-59), Dianna Golden (65-69), JoAnn Szczepkowski (70-74), Sherri Wright (75-79) and Jamie Wollard (80 & O)


Bennett Brumbley (10-13), Francisco Puac (30-34), Martin Rodriguez (35-39), Paul Montini (50-54), Rick Poppleton (65-69), and Jack Huxtable (80 & O).

All-13 Team

The following runners completed all 13 of the series races, showing dedication, desire and determination to their fullest.


Eugenija King, Jennifer Murray, Jen Perry, Sheila Young, Connie Marshall, Cathy Haut, Deborah Rementer, Louise Holt, and Linda Ridenour


Bennett Brumbley, Caleb Bradley, Martin Rodriguez, Tim Young, David Landis, Jack Vassalotti, and Jules Woodall.

Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter