Election delivers new leadership for NAACP State Conference

March 13, 2020

Delaware NAACP members and delegates, elected officials, and community and civil rights activists gathered at Delaware State University Feb. 29 to attend the Delaware NAACP Annual State Convention.

Amongst those attending were Gov. John Carney, Lt. Gov. Bethany Hall-Long, Sen. Chris Coons and members of the Delaware Black Caucus.

The convention focused on economic empowerment, criminal justice reform, education, environmental justice and climate change.

In addition, branch delegates cast their votes for new Delaware NAACP State Conference leadership.

The 2020-22 Delaware NAACP State Conference Leadership officers are President Richard “Mouse” Smith, Bear NAACP branch president; First Vice President Dr. Freeman Williams, Newark NAACP branch president; Second Vice President Fleur McKendell, Central NAACP branch MBA youth advisor; Secretary Barbara Malone, Lower Sussex NAACP branch secretary; and Treasurer Jane Hovington, Lower Sussex NAACP branch former president.

All officers will serve two-year terms. Transition planning will begin immediately, including appointment of an assistant secretary, assistant treasurer and committee chairs. Incoming President Richard Smith has pledged to uphold the mission of the NAACP and expand the organization’s presence throughout Delaware.

Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter