LYC regatta pays tribute to local sailors

Sunfish and Mobjack racers complete two days of competition on Delaware Bay
August 26, 2022

Lewes Yacht Club sponsored two sailing championship races this past weekend that paid tribute to sailing icons at the 90-year-old club.

The Betsy Schmidt Memorial Sunfish Regional Championship honored the longtime Lewes sailor and sailing supporter who passed away March 27.

The T. Rowland Marshall Memorial Mobjack Championship paid tribute to the former commodore and longtime racer who passed away at the age of 100 on April 30.

In tribute to her friend, LYC sailor Connie Miller, events organizer, used Schmidt's blue-and-yellow sail in the regatta.

The Mobjack regatta was won by Mark Arnold of Chesapeake, Va., and Matt Frank of California, who have a long list of Mobjack titles. The duo won five of the seven races.

The race for second and third was a family affair. The Lewes Yacht Club team of Sarah Lester and Tony Ingram finished in second followed by the LYC duo of Paynter Ingram (Tony's father) and Bert Keller, Paynter’s brother-in-law, who came out of retirement for the regatta.

The Lester-Ingram team won one race and finished second in five races. Lester won the award for the Top Woman Mobjack Sailor.

The Ingram-Keller team also received the sportsmanship award and won the first race in the regatta.

Fifth place went to the LYC father-daughter team of Joe and Maria Smith, who also won the family award.

David Slavinski, sailing for the Lavallette Yacht Club in Lavallette, N.J., won his first Sunfish regatta, taking first in four of the six races.

Edward Conrad of Barnegat Light Yacht Club in Harvey Cedars, N.J., was second and David Thompson of Lavallette was third.

The top LYC finisher was Steve Evans, who finished in sixth place overall, followed by Connie Miller in 12th place and David Miller in 13th place. Other LYC finishers included Merritt Burke (15), William Burke (16), Scott and Sav Gaston (19), Achareeya Gaston (20) and Steve Nieblas (21).

Three Rehoboth Bay Sailing Association sailors finished in the top 10, including Jim Knab in fourth place, Nancy Jaywork, seventh, and Robert Lackey, ninth. Jaywork won the award for the first Sunfish female finisher.



Subscribe to the Daily Newsletter